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Legislative Changes to Medical
Assistance and MinnesotaCare

TOPIC

Legislative changes to Medical Assistance and
MinnesotaCare.

PURPOSE

Provide policy for legislative changes to Medical Assistance
and MinnesotaCare.

Health Care Eligibility Operations (HCEQO), counties, and
tribal agencies should submit policy questions to
HealthQuest.

All others should direct questions to:

Health Care Eligibility and Access (HCEA) Division
PO Box 64989

540 Cedar Street

St. Paul, MN 55164-0989

SIGNED

NATHAN MORACCO
Assistant Commissioner
Health Care Administration

TERMINOLOGY NOTICE

The terminology used to describe people we serve has
changed over time. The Minnesota Department of Human
Services (DHS) supports the use of "People First" language.
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|. Background

The 2015 Minnesota Legislature passed legislation that affects Minnesota Health Care
Programs’ eligibility and premiums.

This bulletin describes these changes.

In this bulletin, “we” and “us” refer to the Minnesota Department of Human Services (DHS).

I1. Legislative Changes

The 2015 Minnesota Legislature made the following changes to Medical Assistance (MA)
and MinnesotaCare.

A. Changes to Medical Assistance

1. Parental Fee Decrease and ABLE Accounts,
Effective July 1, 2015

a. 10 Percent Reduction in Parental Fees

Parental fees are reduced by 10 percent for families with children who are
determined MA eligible without regard to parental income through either the
Tax Equity and Fiscal Responsibility Act (TEFRA) or a home and
community-based services (HCBS) waiver program.

We have already sent notices to affected families.
b. Achieving a Better Life Experience (ABLE) Accounts

Minnesota may now implement ABLE accounts for Minnesotans with
disabilities. ABLE accounts are tax-free savings accounts that can be used
for certain qualified expenses, such as education, housing, and
transportation. A person’s ABLE account is excluded from income and
assets when determining eligibility for federal programs, such as MA, the
Supplemental Security Income (SSI) program, the Supplemental Nutrition
Assistance Program (SNAP), the Minnesota Family Investment Program
(MFIP), and others.

We will provide more information about this change following rulemaking.
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2. MA-EPD Premium Decrease, Effective September 1, 2015

The following premium changes for Medical Assistance for Employed Persons
with Disabilities (MA-EPD) take effect beginning with the September 2015
coverage month:

e The minimum monthly premium decreases from $65 to $35.

o For MA-EPD members who get Social Security benefits or other unearned
income, the percent of that income they must pay toward their monthly
premium will decrease from 5.0 percent to 0.5 percent.

We will issue a separate bulletin with more information about this change.

. Uniform Trust Code Change, Effective January 1, 2016

Minnesota statutes relating to the treatment of trusts for purposes of determining
MA eligibility will be renumbered. As a result, the language currently found in
Minnesota Statutes, sections 501B.89 and 501B.895, will appear in Minnesota
Statutes, sections 501C.1205 and 501C.1206, respectively.

The renumbering of these statutes does not change MA eligibility policy.

Until January 1, 2016, continue to refer to Minnesota Statutes, sections 501B.89
and 501B.895. Starting January 1, 2016, refer to Minnesota Statutes, sections
501C.1205 and 501C.1206.

. Spenddown Standard Increase, Effective July 1, 2016

The spenddown standard will increase from 75 percent to 80 percent of the
federal poverty guidelines (FPG) for those whose eligibility for MA is based on
being blind, having a disability, or being 65 years old or older and who have
income above 100 percent of the FPG.

We will issue more information when we implement this change.

B. Changes to MinnesotaCare

1. Federal Compliance Changes, Effective the Day after Enactment

(May 23, 2015)
We have already implemented the changes described in this section.

Beginning January 1, 2015, MinnesotaCare became a federally funded Basic
Health Program (BHP) as permitted under the Affordable Care Act. The 2015
Minnesota Legislature made the following statutory changes to MinnesotaCare
so that the program would conform to the federal regulations that govern a BHP.
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Definition of Family

For MinnesotaCare, a family includes people who are not expecting to file a
federal tax return, or to be claimed as tax dependents, using MA household
composition rules. A married couple who live together are counted in each
other’s households regardless of how or whether they file a tax return. This
policy was implemented with bulletin #15-21-03, Changes to MinnesotaCare
Household Composition Rules, issued on April 28, 2015.

Definition of Income

For MinnesotaCare, income is a household’s projected annual modified
adjusted gross income for the tax year.

Annual Income Limits

The income limits for MinnesotaCare are adjusted for changes to the FPG
each January.

Verification of American Indian Status

American Indians and their families are exempt from MinnesotaCare
premiums. However, an applicant must verify status as an American Indian
to qualify for this exemption.

Verification is not required before eligibility or coverage. Applicants have a
“reasonable-opportunity” period of 90 days from the date of their notice to
provide verification. During the reasonable-opportunity period, coverage is
provided without a premium.

MinnesotaCare Renewals

The period of eligibility for MinnesotaCare is the calendar year. Renewals
occur during the MNsure open-enroliment period each year.

Application Processing Period

The application processing period for MinnesotaCare aligns with the
application processing period for MA, and is now 45 days.

Reduction in Premiums

MinnesotaCare enrollees with household incomes below 35 percent of the
FPG are not required to pay premiums.

Also, for MinnesotaCare enrollees who must pay a premium to receive
coverage and whose household income is from 110 percent to 139 percent
of the FPG, the monthly individual premium decreased slightly. The
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MinnesotaCare Premium Estimator Table was updated to reflect this change
effective January 1, 2015.

2. MinnesotaCare Grace Month, to Be Implemented

Current policy requires that a MinnesotaCare enrollee who does not pay his or
her premium is disenrolled from coverage on the first day of the month for which
the premium was due. An enrollee whose coverage is closed because the
enrollee did not pay the premium can have coverage reinstated by paying the
past-due premium and the next month’s premium within 20 days of closure. A
premium received before noon is credited the same day. A premium received
after noon is credited the next working day.

The 2015 Minnesota Legislature passed a law to comply with federal BHP
regulations that require a grace month for BHP enrollees who do not pay their
premiums on time.

When the grace-month policy is implemented, it will replace the 20-day
reinstatement policy. Nonpayment of a premium will result in closure of
MinnesotaCare coverage effective with the calendar month after the month for
which the premium was due. The month for which the premium was due is
considered the grace month. An enrollee will remain covered during the grace
month, regardless of whether the enrollee pays the premium for that month.

A person who is disenrolled for nonpayment will have a lapse in coverage of at
least one month. To restart coverage, the person must pay the past-due
premium for the grace month and a future month’s premium. Coverage begins
the first day of the month after the month in which the person pays both these
premiums in full.

The MinnesotaCare grace month applies only to enrollees who are required to
pay a MinnesotaCare premium. Households that are exempt from premiums
and household members who are not required to pay premiums, such as
children under the age of 21, remain covered regardless of whether premiums
are paid.

We will issue more information when we implement this change.
3. Premium Increase, Effective August 1, 2015

The Minnesota Legislature directed us to increase MinnesotaCare premiums
sufficient to increase the projected revenue of the Health Care Access Fund at
least $27.8 million for the biennium ending June 30, 2017. We were directed to
use program enrollment as of June 2015 to calculate the premium increases.

Minnesota Department of Human Services - PO Box 64238 - St. Paul, MN 55164-0238
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In accordance with this directive, we have revised the MinnesotaCare premium
scale to increase premiums for enrollees with household incomes from 150 to
200 percent of the FPG. The table below shows these premium increases. The
MinnesotaCare Premium Estimator Table has been updated to include them.

MinnesotaCare Premium Increases
That Take Effect Starting with August 2015 Coverage

Percen1t of FPG Monthly Premium Effective | Monthly Premium Effective
Enrollee’s Income
before August 2015 August 2015
Equals
150-159% $29 $37
160-169% $33 $44
170-179% $38 $52
180-189% $43 $61
190-199% $50 $71
200% $50 $80

The premium increases start with the premium for August 2015 coverage.

C. Change to Medical Assistance and MinnesotaCare:
Periodic Data Matching, Effective March 1, 2016

The Minnesota Legislature directed us to conduct periodic data matching to identify
enrollees in the new eligibility system who may not meet the eligibility criteria for the
public health care program in which they are enrolled. In accordance with this
directive, we will conduct data matching for MA and MinnesotaCare enrollees using
available electronic data at least once during each enrollee’s 12-month period of
eligibility.

If data matching shows that an enrollee no longer qualifies for MA or
MinnesotaCare, we will notify the enrollee and provide him or her 30 days to confirm
the information obtained through data matching or provide a reasonable explanation
for the discrepancy. If an enrollee does not respond to the notice, does not respond
with information required to establish eligibility, or does not provide a reasonable
explanation for the discrepancy within 30 days, we will end the enrollee’s eligibility
in accordance with MA or MinnesotaCare policies.

We will not terminate eligibility for an enrollee who is cooperating with the state or
county agency and who needs more time to provide the required information.

We will issue more information when we implement this change.
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[11. Action Required

County, tribal, and Health Care Eligibility Operations workers should continue to consult
ONEsource for procedures and system instructions. We will revise ONEsource as needed
to implement the policy changes described in this bulletin.

V. Legal References

Laws of Minnesota 2015, Chapter 5, article 12, sections 5 and 6
Laws of Minnesota 2015, Chapter 5, article 16, section 2

Laws of Minnesota 2015, Chapter 71, article 7, section 24

Laws of Minnesota 2015, Chapter 71, article 7, section 27

Laws of Minnesota 2015, Chapter 71, article 7, section 28

Laws of Minnesota 2015, Chapter 71, article 7, sections 44-51
Laws of Minnesota 2015, Chapter 71, article 11, section 17

Laws of Minnesota 2015, Chapter 71, article 11, sections 46—48
Laws of Minnesota 2015, Chapter 71, article 11, section 50

Laws of Minnesota 2015, Chapter 71, article 11, sections 52-55
Laws of Minnesota 2015, Chapter 71, article 11, sections 57 and 58
Code of Federal Regulations, title 42, Chapter IV, Subchapter I, Part 600, subpart F

Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA) Advisory

This information is available in accessible formats for people with disabilities by calling
651-431-2283 (voice) or toll free at 888-938-3224 or by using your preferred relay service.
For other information on disability rights and protections, contact the agency’s ADA
coordinator.
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