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State Operated Forensic Services New 
Billing Rates Announced for Forensic 
Network Evaluations including Rule 20 
Examinations and Repeat Sex Offender 
Assessments 

TOPIC 
State Operated Forensic Services provides inpatient and 
outpatient court ordered examinations that are coordinated 
through the Forensic Network.  New billing rates have been 
established for inpatient examinations.  This bulletin 
replaces bulletin #13-76-02. 

PURPOSE 

Establish new billing rates for inpatient examinations. 

CONTACT 
For billing questions: Lori Zook, Controller at 651-431-3691 

For clinical questions: Kaye Zarn-Mills, Forensic 
Coordinators   

SIGNED 
 

__________________________________ 
ANNE BARRY 
Deputy Commissioner 
Direct Care and Treatment 

TERMINOLOGY NOTICE  
The terminology used to describe people we serve has 
changed over time. The Minnesota Department of Human 
Services (DHS) supports the use of "People First" language. 
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A. Minnesota Rules of Criminal Procedure Rule 20 
Examination Rates (Adult and Juvenile) 

 1. Outpatient Rule 20 Examinations 
These are cases where the defendants are either in custody or not in custody, but who are not 
admitted to the Minnesota Security Hospital for an inpatient examination. 

 

 Rule 20.01, Subd. 4 - Capacity to Proceed -$750.00 per examination 
 Rule 20.02, Subd. 2 -  Criminal Responsibility - $750.00 per examination 
 Rule 20.01, Subd. 4 and 20.02, Subd. 2 - $950.00 per examination 
 If adding Commitment Examination per Rule 20.04-add $240.00 to above fees. 

Commitment Examination will only be performed in conjunction with the other 
examinations. 

 

Testimony time will be billed at $75.00 per hour if necessary. Travel time will be billed as 
needed, but not to exceed $75.00 per hour. 

2. Inpatient Rule 20 Examinations 
These are cases where the defendant is specifically ordered to have a Rule 20 examination 
completed while held at the Minnesota Security Hospital on an inpatient basis.  

In-patient examinations include 2 billing components: 

1. Professional assessment and evaluation rate based upon required Level of Care  

The Level of Care rate for professional assessment and evaluation services for in-patient 
examinations described in this bulletin is noted below.  This cost will be billed directly to the 
county court administration that ordered the examination.  (Minnesota Statutes, section 
480.182) 

$280.00 per day for admissions to the Minnesota Security Hospital 

 

2. Room and board rate 

The room and board rate for in-patient examinations described in this bulletin is noted below.  
This cost will be billed directly to the county human services agency where the order originated. 
(Minnesota Statutes, section 253B.045) 

$316.00 per day for admissions to the Minnesota Security Hospital 
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If a defendant is referred and admitted to the Minnesota Security Hospital exclusively for an 
inpatient examination, the county will be billed according to the in-patient billing procedures 
noted above.  However, if a patient is already admitted to the Minnesota Security Hospital 
pursuant to Minnesota Statutes, Chapter 253B and a subsequent Rule 20 examination is 
ordered, the examination will be billed as an outpatient examination. 

 

B. Mandatory Repeat Sex Offender Assessments (Minnesota 
Statutes, section 609.3457) 
 

 Mandatory Repeat Sex Offender Assessment - $750.00 per examination 
 

All Mandatory Repeat Sex Offender Assessments are completed on an outpatient basis, and 
are not considered for inpatient admission to the Minnesota Security Hospital.  

 

Testimony time will be billed at $75.00 per hour if necessary. 

Travel time will be billed as needed, but not to exceed $75.00 per hour. 

 
 

C. Rule 27.03 Pre-Sentence Evaluations 
 

 Rule 27.03 Pre-Sentence Evaluations - $750.00 per case 
 

All Rule 27.03 Pre-Sentence Evaluations are completed on an outpatient basis, and are not 
considered for inpatient admission to the Minnesota Security Hospital. 

 

Testimony time will be billed at $75.00 per hour if necessary. 

Travel time will be billed as needed, but not to exceed $75.00 per hour. 

 

D. Neuropsychological Testing 

 
 Neuropsychological testing may be recommended by the examiner for inpatient 

oroutpatient Rule 20 cases. This supplemental testing is available through State 
Operated Forensic Services however there is an additional fee. The cost of 
neuropsychological testing will be billed in addition to the Rule 20 examination rate. 



Bulletin #14-76-03 
July 15, 2014 
Page 4 
 

Minnesota Department of Human Services ·  PO Box 64238 ·  St. Paul, MN  55164-0238 
 

A court order is required to ensure the court authorized payment. 
 

Testimony time will be billed at $75.00 per hour if necessary. 

Travel time will be billed as needed, but not to exceed $75.00 per hour. 

 

E. Referral Process 
The Forensic Network is structured with a centralized access and referral point.  All requests are 
to be referred to: 

Kaye Zarn-Mills, Forensic Coordinator 
State Operated Forensic Services 
100 Freeman Drive 
St. Peter, MN  56082 
Phone: Toll Free: (877) 931-7007 
 Or: (507) 985-2007 
Fax: (507) 985-3320  
Forensic.Coordinator@state.mn.us 

State Operated Forensic Services has created sample court order templates for Rule 20 and 
Repeat Sex Offender Assessments. These formats are recommended only when SOFS is 
ordered to complete an exam as they contain specific authorities that only pertain to SOFS staff.  
Copies are available by contacting the forensic coordinator. 

Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA) Advisory  
This information is available in accessible formats for people with disabilities by calling (651) 
431-3676 (voice) or toll free at (800) 627-3529 or by using your preferred relay service. For 
other information on disability rights and protections, contact the agency’s ADA coordinator. 


	#14-76-03
	State Operated Forensic Services NewBilling Rates Announced for ForensicNetwork Evaluations including Rule 20Examinations and Repeat Sex OffenderAssessments
	A. Minnesota Rules of Criminal Procedure Rule 20 Examination Rates (Adult and Juvenile)
	B. Mandatory Repeat Sex Offender Assessments (MinnesotaStatutes, section 609.3457)
	Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA) Advisory

