MALTREATMENT OF VULNERABLE ADULTS REPORTING
POLICY FOR DHS LICENSED PROGRAMS

As a mandated reporter, if you know or suspect that a vulnerable adult has been maltreated, you must
report it immediately (within 24 hours).

Where to Report

e You can report to the state-wide common entry point, the Minnesota Adult Abuse Reporting Center,
at 844-880-1574.

e Or, you can report internally to (name or position) . If the
individual listed above is involved in the alleged or suspected maltreatment, you must report to
(name or position).

Internal Report

e When an internal report is received, (name or position)
is responsible for deciding if the report must be forwarded to the state-wide common entry point.
If that person is involved in the suspected maltreatment,
(name or position) will assume responsibility for deciding if the report must be forwarded to
the state-wide common entry point. The report must be forwarded within 24 hours.

e If you have reported internally, you will receive, within two working days, a written notice that tells you
whether or not your report has been forwarded to the state-wide common entry point. The notice will
be given to you in a manner that protects your identity. It will inform you that, if you are not satisfied
with the facility’s decision on whether or not to report externally, you may still make the external
report to the state-wide common entry point yourself. It will also inform you that you are protected
against any retaliation if you decide to make a good faith report to the state-wide common entry point.

Internal Review

When the facility has reason to know that an internal or external report of alleged or suspected
maltreatment has been made, the facility must complete an internal review within 30 calendar days
and take corrective action, if necessary, to protect the health and safety of vulnerable adults. The
internal review must include an evaluation of whether:

() related policies and procedures were followed;
(i) the policies and procedures were adequate;
(iii) there is a need for additional staff training;

(iv) the reported event is similar to past events with the vulnerable adults or the services
involved; and

(V) there is a need for corrective action by the license holder to protect the health and
safety of vulnerable adults.
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Primary and Secondary Person or Position to Ensure Internal Reviews are Completed

The internal review will be completed by (name or position).
If this individual is involved in the alleged or suspected maltreatment,
(name or position) will be responsible for completing the internal review.

Documentation of the Internal Review

The facility must document completion of the internal review and make internal reviews accessible to
the commissioner immediately upon the commissioner's request.

Corrective Action Plan

Based on the results of the internal review, the license holder must develop, document, and implement
a corrective action plan designed to correct current lapses and prevent future lapses in performance by
individuals or the license holder, if any.

Staff Training

The license holder shall ensure that each new mandated reporter receives an orientation within 72
hours of first providing direct contact services to a vulnerable adult and annually thereafter. The
orientation and annual review shall inform the mandated reporters of the reporting requirements and
definitions specified under Minnesota Statutes, sections 626.557 and 626.5572, the requirements of
Minnesota Statutes, section 245A.65, the license holder's program abuse prevention plan, and all
internal policies and procedures related to the prevention and reporting of maltreatment of individuals
receiving services.

The license holder must document the provision of this training, monitor implementation by staff, and
ensure that the policy is readily accessible to staff, as specified under Minnesota Statutes, section
245A.04, subdivision 14.

THIS REPORTING POLICY MUST BE POSTED IN A PROMINENT LOCATION, AND BE
MADE AVAILABLE UPON REQUEST.
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