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SERVICE SUSPENSION & TERMINATION INITIATED BY THE LICENSE HOLDER 
Basic Support Services vs. Intensive Support Services 
There are different licensing requirements regarding the timelines of a termination notice when a license holder is providing basic support services and intensive 
support services. The checklist designates when the licensing standards apply to a specific service type. When there is no designation, the licensing standards 
apply to both basic support services and intensive support services. 
 
Basic support services include:   Intensive support services include:  

• In-home and out-of home respite care  • Intervention services, including  
• Adult companion services o Behavioral support 
• Personal support o In-home and out-of home crisis respite 
• 24-hour emergency assistance o Specialist services 
• Night supervision • In-home support services, including 
• Homemaker o In-home family support and supported living services 

 o Independent living skills training  
 o Semi-independent living services 
 • Residential supports and services, including  
 o Supported living services and foster care services provided in a child foster care residence, 

a family adult foster care residence, a community residential setting, or a supervised living 
facility 

 o Residential services provided in an ICF/DD; 
 • Day services, including  
 o Structured day services,  
 o Day training and habilitation 
 o Prevocational services 
 • Supported employment 
 
Definitions: 
 
"Case manager" means the individual designated to provide waiver case management services, care coordination, or long-term care consultation, as specified in 
sections 256B.0913, 256B.0915, 256B.092, and 256B.49, or successor provisions [section 245D.02, subdivision 3].  
 
"Expanded support team" means the members of the support team defined in subdivision 34 and a licensed health or mental health professional or other licensed, 
certified, or qualified professionals or consultants working with the person and included in the team at the request of the person or the person's legal representative 
[section 245D.02, subdivision 8b]. 
 
"Legal representative" means the parent of a person who is under 18 years of age, a court-appointed guardian, or other representative with legal authority to make 
decisions about services for a person. Other representatives with legal authority to make decisions include but are not limited to a health care agent or an attorney-
in-fact authorized through a health care directive or power of attorney [section 245D.02, subdivision 12]. 
 
“Support team" means the service planning team identified in section 256B.49, subdivision 15; the interdisciplinary team identified in Minnesota Rules, part 
9525.0004, subpart 14; or the case management team as defined in Minnesota Rules, part 9520.0902, subpart 6  [section 245D.02, subdivision  

https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes?id=256B.0913%23stat.256B.0913
https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes?id=256B.0915%23stat.256B.0915
https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes?id=256B.092%23stat.256B.092
https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes?id=256B.49%23stat.256B.49
https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes?id=256B.49%23stat.256B.49.15
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245D.10,   
Subd. 3, (a) 
 

TEMPORARY SERVICE SUSPENSION 
The license holder must establish policies and procedures for temporary 
service suspension that promote continuity of care and service coordination 
with the person and the case manager and with other licensed caregivers, if 
any, who also provide support to the person. 

    

245D.10,   
Subd. 3, (b) 

The license holder must limit temporary service suspension to situations in 
which: 

    

 (1) the person's conduct poses an imminent risk of physical harm to self or 
others and either positive support strategies have been implemented to 
resolve the issues leading to the temporary service suspension but have 
not been effective and additional positive support strategies would not 
achieve and maintain safety, or less restrictive measures would not 
resolve the issues leading to the suspension; 

    

 (2) the person has emergent medical issues that exceed the license holder's 
ability to meet the person's needs; or 

    

 (3) the program has not been paid for services.     

245D.10,   
Subd. 3, (c) 
 
 

Prior to giving notice of temporary service suspension, the license holder must 
document actions taken to minimize or eliminate the need for service 
suspension. Action taken by the license holder must include, at a minimum: 

    

 (1)  consultation with the person's support team or expanded support team to 
identify and resolve issues leading to issuance of the notice; and 

    

 (2) a request to the case manager for intervention services identified in 
section 245D.03, subdivision 1, paragraph (c), clause (1), or other 
professional consultation or intervention services to support the person in 
the program. This requirement does not apply to temporary suspensions 
issued under paragraph (b), clause (3). 

If, based on the best interests of the person, the circumstances at the time of 
the notice were such that the license holder was unable to take the action 
specified in clauses (1) and (2), the license holder must document the specific 
circumstances and the reason for being unable to do so. 

    

https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/?id=245D.10
https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/?id=245D.10
https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/?id=245D.10
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245D.10,   
Subd. 3, (d) 
 

The notice of temporary service suspension must meet the following 
requirements: 

    

 (1) The license holder must notify the ___person or the legal representative 
and ___case manager in writing of the intended temporary service 
suspension. If the temporary service suspension is from residential 
supports and services as defined in section 245D.03, subdivision 1, 
paragraph (c), clause (3), the license holder must also notify the 
commissioner in writing; 

    

 (2) Notice of temporary service suspension must be given on the first day of 
service suspension; and 

    

 (3) the notice must include the reason for the action, a summary of actions 
taken to minimize or eliminate the need for temporary service suspension 
as required under this paragraph, and why these measures failed to 
prevent the suspension. 

    

245D.10,   
Subd. 3, (e) 

During the temporary suspension period, the license holder must:     

 (1) provide information requested by the person or case manager;     

 (2) work with the support team or expanded support team to develop 
reasonable alternatives to protect the person and others and to support 
continuity of care; and 

    

 (3) maintain information about the service suspension, including the written 
notice of temporary service suspension, in the service recipient record. 

    

245D.10,   
Subd. 3, (f) 

If, based on a review by the person's support team or expanded support team, 
that team determines the person no longer poses an imminent risk of physical 
harm to self or others, the person was given the right to return to receiving 
services.  

    

https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/?id=245D.10
https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/?id=245D.10
https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/?id=245D.10
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 If, at the time of the service suspension or at any time during the 
suspension, the person is receiving treatment related to the conduct that 
resulted in the service suspension, the support team or expanded support 
team considered the recommendation of the licensed health professional, 
mental health professional, or other licensed professional involved in the 
person's care or treatment when determining whether the person no 
longer poses an imminent risk of physical harm to self or others and can 
return to the program. 

    

 If the support team or expanded support team makes a determination that 
is contrary to the recommendation of a licensed professional treating the 
person, the license holder must document the specific reasons why a 
contrary decision was made. 

    

245D.10,   
Subd. 3a, (a) 

SERVICE TERMINATION 
The license holder must establish policies and procedures for service 
termination that promote continuity of care and service coordination with the 
person and the case manager and with other licensed caregivers, if any, who 
also provide support to the person. 

    

245D.10,   
Subd. 3a, (b) 

The license holder must permit each person to remain in the program and 
must not terminate services unless: 

    

 (1) the termination is necessary for the person’s welfare and the person’s 
needs cannot be met in the facility; 

    

 (2) the safety of the person or others in the program is endangered and 
positive support strategies were attempted and have not achieved and 
effectively maintained safety for the person or others; 

    

 (3) the health of the person or others in the program would otherwise be 
endangered; 

    

 (4) the program has not been paid for services;     

 (5) the program ceases to operate; or     

 (6) the person has been terminated by the lead agency from waiver eligibility.     

https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/?id=245D.10
https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/?id=245D.10
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245D.10,   
Subd. 3a, (c) 

Prior to giving notice of service termination, the license holder must document 
actions taken to minimize or eliminate the need for termination. Action taken 
by the license holder must include, at a minimum: 

    

 (1) consultation with the person’s support team or expanded support team to 
identify and resolve issues leading to issuance of the notice; and 

    

 (2) a request to the case manager for intervention services identified in 
section 245D.03, subdivision 1, paragraph (c), clause (1), or other 
professional consultation or intervention services to support the person in 
the program. This requirement does not apply to notices of service 
termination issued under paragraph (b), clause (4). 

    

 If, based on the best interest of the person, the circumstances at the time of 
the notice were such that the license holder was unable to take the action 
specified in clauses (1) and (2), the license holder must document the specific 
circumstances and the reason for being unable to do so. 

    

245D.10,   
Subd. 3a, (d) 

The notice of service termination must meet the following requirements:     

 (1) the license holder must notify the ___person or the person’s___ legal 
representative and the ___case manager in writing of the intended service 
termination.  

    

 • If the service termination is from a residential supports and services 
as defined in section 245D.03, subdivision 1, paragraph (c), clause 
(3), the license holder must also notify the commissioner in writing; 

    

 (2) the notice must include:     

 i. the reason for the action;     

 
 
 

ii. except for a service termination under paragraph (b), 
clause (5), a summary of actions taken to minimize or 
eliminate the need for service termination or temporary 
service suspension as required under paragraph (c), and 
why these measures failed to prevent termination or 
suspension; 

    

https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/?id=245D.10
https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/?id=245D.10
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 iii. the person’s right to appeal the termination of services 
under section 256.045, subdivision 3, paragraph (a); and 

    

 iv. the person’s right to seek a temporary order staying the 
termination of services according to the procedures in 
section 256.045, subdivision 4a or 6, paragraph (c).  

    

245D.10,   
Subd. 3a, (e) 

Notice of the proposed termination of service, including those situations that 
began with a temporary service suspension, must be given at least 60 days 
prior to termination when a license holder is providing intensive supports and 
services identified in section 245D.03, subdivision 1, paragraph (c), and 30 
days prior to termination for all other services licensed under this chapter. This 
notice may be given in conjunction with a notice of temporary service 
suspension under subdivision 3. 

    

245D.10,   
Subd. 3a, (f) 

During the service termination notice period, the license holder must:     

 (1) work with the support team or expanded support team to develop 
reasonable alternatives to protect the person and others and to support 
continuity of care; 

    

 (2) provide information requested by the person or case manager; and     

 
 

(3) maintain information about the service termination, including the written 
notice of intended service termination, in the service recipient record. 

    

 

https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/?id=245D.10
https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/?id=245D.10

