
 
 

 
 

 
DATE: December 23, 2014 
 
TO: CHEMICAL DEPENDENCY TREATMENT PROGRAMS (Rule 31) 
 
RE: Licensing Updates and Renewal Information for Licenses Effective January 1, 

2015 
 
 
A. LICENSE HOLDER REQUIREMENTS FOR LICENSE RENEWAL 
 

1. License fee payment required before your 2015 license is printed.  Your license fee payment 
must be received before we can print your 2015 license. Therefore, please make your payment as 
soon as possible, but no later than the due date printed on the invoice.   

 
Temporary surcharge.  Minnesota Statute 16E.22 requires state agencies to collect a temporary 
surcharge of 10 percent (not to exceed $150) on each business, commercial, professional, or 
occupational license for development of a statewide electronic licensing system.  This surcharge 
is reflected on line 2 of the license fee invoice.  The surcharge for the license will be in effect for 
up to six years between July 1, 2009, and June 30, 2015. 

 
2. Programs closing on or before December 31, 2014.  If you plan on closing your program on or 

before December 31, 2014, please notify your licensor immediately so we can cancel the bill for 
your 2015 license.  
 

3. Submitting your license fee payment.  Submit your license fee payment after you have received 
the invoice for your license. Do not submit your license fee payment without your invoice. We 
encourage you to pay the bill online at DHS Web Payments by going to 
http://payments.dhs.state.mn.us. 

 
4. Licensing review.  The annual renewal of your license and payment of your 2015 license fee is 

independent from the licensing review of your program. You will receive notice from your DHS 
licensor about the license review prior to your next scheduled review.  

 
5. Expired license.  If you allow your license to expire because you fail to pay the 2015 license fee, 

you will need to apply for a new license. Due to limited staff resources and other work priorities, 
it could be months before a new license is issued.  You cannot operate under an expired license 
while your new application is being processed.  In addition, you will lose access to NETStudy to 
submit online background study requests. 

 
6. Unpaid licensing fees or fines.  If a license holder or controlling individual has an outstanding 

debt related to a license fee, licensing fine, or settlement agreement for which payment is 
delinquent, your 2015 license cannot be reissued until the payment is received.  

 
7. Change in license information.  If you wish to change any terms on your license, please contact 

your licensor immediately so those changes can be approved before we print your 2015 license.  
If you hold multiple licenses and want the change to apply to each license you must complete a 
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separate change in terms for each license.  Also, the invoice for your license fee will be sent to 
the billing address you provided to Licensing. If this information is not current, it will delay 
receipt of your license fee invoice. 
 

8. Questions regarding the license renewal process.  If you have any questions regarding the 
license renewal process, please contact the licensor assigned to your program.   

 
B. SELECTED HIGHLIGHTS OF 2014 LICENSING LEGISLATION 

 
The 2014 Minnesota Legislature passed several amendments affecting Department of Human 
Services (DHS) license holders.  Information on new laws passed in 2014 that affect licensed 
programs  is now available on the Licensing Division public website located under “What’s New”.   
License holders are responsible to read these summaries and to take the action necessary to comply 
with any new applicable requirements.   

 
Some of the legislative changes affect all licensed programs, and some changes affect providers of 
specific chemical dependency treatment services.  License holders who provide chemical dependency 
treatment services to clients with infants and children who sleep at the program must comply with 
legislation approved this year to improve child safety by providing training to enhance compliance 
with safe sleep practices and better protect infants receiving care in licensed settings.  License holders 
providing opioid treatment services must meet the requirements of new laws to strengthen regulation 
of methadone clinics and improve treatment for people who are addicted. 
 

C. GENERAL INFORMATION, UPDATES, AND RESOURCES 
 

1. Online information.  The Licensing Division public website is your primary source of 
information on licensing standards and requirements.  As a license holder, it is your responsibility 
to frequently check for updates, changes, and additions to this information.  Below are highlights 
of the available online information.  

2. Substance Abuse Program licensing laws and rules.  Substance abuse program licensing laws 
and rules are available to you online through the Minnesota Office of the Revisor of Statutes as 
follows:.   

• Minnesota Rules, parts 9530.6405 to 9530.6505 (DHS Rule 31) 
 
• Minnesota Statutes, Chapter 245A (Human Services Licensing Act) 
 
• Minnesota Statutes, Chapter 245C (Human Services Background Study Act)     

 
• Minnesota Statues, Chapter 148F (Alcohol and Drug Counselor Requirements)   

 
• Minnesota Statutes, Section 626.557 (Reporting of Maltreatment of Vulnerable 

Adults)    
 

• Minnesota Statutes, Section 626.556 (Reporting of Maltreatment of Minors Act)   
 

3. Mental health and chemical health programs licensing forms.  License holders have access to 
various licensing forms developed by DHS, intended for use by programs, and in compliance 
with current licensing requirements.  Many forms are designed for general use by all licensed 
programs 

http://www.dhs.state.mn.us/main/idcplg?IdcService=GET_DYNAMIC_CONVERSION&RevisionSelectionMethod=LatestReleased&dDocName=Licensing
http://www.dhs.state.mn.us/main/idcplg?IdcService=GET_DYNAMIC_CONVERSION&RevisionSelectionMethod=LatestReleased&dDocName=Licensing
http://mn.gov/dhs/general-public/licensing/
https://www.revisor.mn.gov/
https://www.revisor.mn.gov/rules/?id=9530
https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/?id=245A
https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/?id=245C
https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/?id=148F
https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/?id=626.557
https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/?id=626.557
https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/?id=626.556
http://www.dhs.state.mn.us/main/idcplg?IdcService=GET_DYNAMIC_CONVERSION&RevisionSelectionMethod=LatestReleased&dDocName=id_028228%23CDMH
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• Several (optional) forms are available to help in Rule 31 treatment planning and 
implementation.   

 
4. Licensing Lookup:  Public searches for DHS licensed programs can be done using the DHS 

Licensing Information Lookup  online search tool or by reviewing the online DHS licensed 
program list.  
 
Since July 1, 2010, the Licensing Division has posted licensing actions and decisions issued to 
DHS licensed programs online through DHS Licensing Information Lookup. The licensing 
actions and decisions that are available include:  

• correction orders; 
• orders for conditional license; 
• sanctions which include fines, suspensions, and revocations; 
• commissioner’s response to license holders’ requests for reconsideration of 

correction orders and orders of conditional licenses; 
• commissioner’s final orders resulting from contested case hearings; and  
• settlement agreements. 

 
Documents are posted in accordance with the requirements of the Minnesota Government 
Data Practices Act, Minnesota Statutes, section 13.46. 

 
New licensing documents are posted daily on DHS Licensing Information Lookup. You may 
sign up to receive daily emails with links to newly published documents. 

  
5. Maltreatment information.  Sample maltreatment reporting policies and procedures and general 

information on maltreatment investigations are available online from the DHS Licensing web 
site.  
 

6. Alert information.   Information from our maltreatment investigations unit highlighting areas 
where injuries and harm to persons receiving services from DHS licensed facilities is available 
online from the DHS Licensing web site under Alerts. Alerts are posted as needed throughout the 
year. 

 
7. Online mandated reporter training.  DHS Licensing offers online training courses for both 

Vulnerable Adults Mandated Reporting and Maltreatment of Minors Mandated Reporting.  
 

a. The Vulnerable Adults Mandated Reporting course introduces mandated reporters to: 
• The Vulnerable Adults Act  

• Definition of maltreatment  

• Who are the mandated reporters  

• The Common Entry Point (CEP)  

b. The Maltreatment of Minors Mandated Reporter training includes: 

• The Reporting of Maltreatment of Minors Act 

• An overview of the Minnesota Child Protection System 

• Definition of maltreatment 

http://www.dhs.state.mn.us/main/idcplg?IdcService=GET_DYNAMIC_CONVERSION&RevisionSelectionMethod=LatestReleased&dDocName=id_028228
http://www.dhs.state.mn.us/main/idcplg?IdcService=GET_DYNAMIC_CONVERSION&RevisionSelectionMethod=LatestReleased&dDocName=id_028228
http://www.dhs.state.mn.us/main/idcplg?IdcService=GET_DYNAMIC_CONVERSION&RevisionSelectionMethod=LatestReleased&dDocName=id_054422
http://www.dhs.state.mn.us/main/idcplg?IdcService=GET_DYNAMIC_CONVERSION&RevisionSelectionMethod=LatestReleased&dDocName=id_054350
http://www.dhs.state.mn.us/main/idcplg?IdcService=GET_DYNAMIC_CONVERSION&RevisionSelectionMethod=LatestReleased&dDocName=id_054350
http://licensinglookup.dhs.state.mn.us/
http://licensinglookup.dhs.state.mn.us/Subscribe.aspx
http://www.dhs.state.mn.us/main/idcplg?IdcService=GET_DYNAMIC_CONVERSION&RevisionSelectionMethod=LatestReleased&dDocName=id_028228#CDMH
http://www.dhs.state.mn.us/main/idcplg?IdcService=GET_DYNAMIC_CONVERSION&RevisionSelectionMethod=LatestReleased&dDocName=id_054427
http://www.dhs.state.mn.us/main/idcplg?IdcService=GET_DYNAMIC_CONVERSION&RevisionSelectionMethod=LatestReleased&dDocName=dhs16_136495%23http://www.dhs.state.mn.us/main/idcplg?IdcService=GET_DYNAMIC_CONVERSION&RevisionSelectionMethod=LatestReleased&dDocName=dhs16_136495
http://registrations.dhs.state.mn.us/WebManRpt/
http://www.dhs.state.mn.us/media/flash/Training%20modules%20on%20guidelines%20for%20mandated%20reporting/launch.htm
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• Who are mandated reporters 

License holders are reminded that they must ensure mandated reporters under their control also 
receive training on the program's own maltreatment reporting policies and procedures in addition 
to the online course. 

 
8. Applying for a new license.  If you plan to submit an application for a license for a new Rule 31 

Program, please note that the application forms for new licenses have changed.  When applying 
for a new license, the application must be submitted in this new format.  The application is 
available on the DHS/Chemical Health web page in the Chemical Dependency Treatment 
Program section, and on the Licensing Division's Forms page.  Previous versions of the licensing 
application form are no longer acceptable and will be returned to the applicant.  

 
9. The Licensing Division’s telephone numbers and email.  Please ensure that  your program’s 

phone list and any applicable policies and procedures include current DHS telephone numbers:   
 

• Licensing Division – (651) 431-6500 

• Licensing Division’s Main Fax – (651) 431-7673 

• MH/CD Licensing Unit Email - dhs.mhcdlicensing@state.mn.us 

• Maltreatment Intake/CEP/VA Report – (651) 431-6600 

• Maltreatment Fax – (651) 431-7601 

10. Background Studies Division.  The Background Studies area is now a separate division in the 
Office of the Inspector General.  The phone number for the Background Studies Division Call 
Center is (651) 431-6620. 

11. Self-monitoring checklists.  The DHS Licensing website maintains a self-monitoring checklist 
for use by Rule 31 license holders to evaluate their program’s compliance with applicable 
licensing standards.  Checklists are separated into four topic areas: physical plant, policies and 
procedures, personnel files, and client records. 

12. License renewal letter.  The annually published License Renewal Information for each service 
class is located under general information on the Division of Licensing website.  An archive of 
past license renewal information is maintained.  

13. Reporting a death in the program. Minnesota Statutes, 245A.04, subdivision 16 requires that 
DHS licensed programs must have a written policy for reporting the death of an individual served 
by the program to the commissioner of human services. Within 24 hours of receiving knowledge 
of the death of an individual served by the program, the license holder shall notify the 
commissioner of the death. If the license holder has reason to know that the death has been 
reported to the commissioner, a subsequent report is not required.     

 
D. INFORMATION FOR ALL RULE 31 CHEMICAL DEPENDENCY TREATMENT 

PROGRAMS  
 

1. Rate reform requirements. The 2011 Minnesota Legislature enacted a statewide rate setting 
methodology for all chemical dependency services covered by Consolidated Chemical 
Dependency Treatment Fund (CCDTF). DHS released Bulletin #14-51-01 on July 10, 2014, 
regarding service and documentation requirements for chemical dependency treatment services. 
The bulletin provides instructions on complying with staffing, service, billing and documentation 
issues related to base rate and enhanced rate funding for payment from the Consolidated 

http://www.dhs.state.mn.us/main/idcplg?IdcService=GET_DYNAMIC_CONVERSION&RevisionSelectionMethod=LatestReleased&dDocName=id_054366
http://www.dhs.state.mn.us/main/idcplg?IdcService=GET_DYNAMIC_CONVERSION&RevisionSelectionMethod=LatestReleased&dDocName=id_028228%23CDMH
http://www.dhs.state.mn.us/main/idcplg?IdcService=GET_DYNAMIC_CONVERSION&RevisionSelectionMethod=LatestReleased&dDocName=id_054366%23P16_487
http://www.dhs.state.mn.us/main/idcplg?IdcService=GET_DYNAMIC_CONVERSION&RevisionSelectionMethod=LatestReleased&dDocName=dhs16_142967
http://www.dhs.state.mn.us/main/groups/publications/documents/pub/dhs16_185299.pdf
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Chemical Dependency Treatment Fund. This bulletin replaces previous ADAD policy 
interpretations, answers to Frequently Asked Questions, and other formal and informal guidance 
provided to chemical dependency treatment providers regarding CCDTF billing and rate 
enhancement requirements. 
 

1. DSM-5. As of October 1, 2014, the American Psychiatric Association’s Diagnostic and 
Statistical Manual of Mental Health Disorders (DSM), 5th Edition, will be the required 
classification reference tool for clinicians and licensed mental health professionals.  For more 
information, please click on the following link:  ICD-10 and DSM-5 Frequently Asked Questions 

 
2. Opioid addiction treatment education.  Minnesota Statutes, Section 245A.1915 requires that all 

providers licensed to provide chemical dependency treatment services must provide educational 
information concerning treatment options for opioid addiction, including the use of a medication 
for the use of opioid addiction, to clients identified as having or seeking treatment for opioid 
addiction. The commissioner shall develop educational materials that are supported by research 
and updated periodically that must be used by programs to comply with this requirement.   

 
3. Staff access to client files.  Staff persons who have direct contact with program clients are 

members of the program's treatment team and therefore must have access to client files in order to 
accurately know, understand, and implement individual treatment plans and to document all 
treatment services that are provided. This means that client files cannot be kept in locked 
counselors’ offices unless all direct care staff have access to the counselor’s office and the client 
files. ` 
 

4. Description of treatment services provided by the program.  Minnesota Rules, part 
9530.6455, item J requires that the license holder's written policy and procedures manual must 
contain a description of treatment services including the amount and type of client services 
provided.  When developing a description of the services that will be provided, license holders 
must also describe how each service will be implemented in their programs, and not just quote 
the rule requirements.  In some cases this will require separate descriptions for each individual 
service track provided within the program. 

 
5. Client rights.  Minnesota Rules 4747.1500 (Client Bill of Rights for Alcohol and Drug 

Counselors) was repealed effective August 1, 2012.  The Client Bill of Rights for Alcohol and 
Drug Counselors is now located in Minnesota Statutes, section 148F.165, subdivision 2, which 
became effective August 1, 2012.  Please ensure that all program documents related to client 
rights are revised to meet the new requirements.    
 

6. Maintaining a stock supply of legend drugs in a treatment program is prohibited. Under 
Minnesota Statute, section 151.37, subdivisions 1 and 5, the Board of Pharmacy prohibits the 
possession of legend drugs, except under conditions specified by law.  The only exceptions 
specified are: licensed drug wholesalers, licensed manufacturers, registered pharmacies, local 
detoxification centers, licensed hospitals, bone fide hospitals wherein animals are treated, or 
licensed pharmacists and licensed practitioners while acting within the course of their practice 
only.  We have been informed by the Board of Pharmacy that it is not the intention of the law to 
allow programs to store stock supplies of medications in general.  

 
7. Frequently cited violations.  The following requirements continue to be frequently cited 

violations during licensing reviews.   
 

http://www.dhs.state.mn.us/main/idcplg?IdcService=GET_DYNAMIC_CONVERSION&RevisionSelectionMethod=LatestReleased&dDocName=dhs16_182682
https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/?id=245A.1915
https://www.revisor.mn.gov/rules/?id=9530.6455
https://www.revisor.mn.gov/rules/?id=9530.6455
https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/?id=148F.165%23stat.148F.165.2
https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/?id=151.37
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a. The personnel files of treatment directors, supervisors, nurses, and counselors must contain 
documentation of 12 hours of training in co-occurring mental health problems and substances 
use disorder that includes the competencies identified in 9530.6460, subpart 2, item E.  
 

b. The license holder must maintain documentation that at least 25 percent of a counselor’s 
scheduled work hours are allocated to indirect services, including documentation of client 
services, coordination of services with others, treatment team meetings and other duties.   
 

It is recommended that license holders reinforce program procedures to ensure compliance with 
these requirements.   

 
E. REMINDER FOR RESIDENTIAL AND OUTPATIENT RULE 31 PROGRAMS THAT 

SERVE CLIENTS WITH INFANTS WHO SLEEP AT THE PROGRAM  
 

1. Supervision of clients’ children at a Rule 31 licensed facility.  In addition to the 
requirements of Minnesota Rules, parts 9530.6405 to 9530.6480, all license holders that 
offer supervision of children of clients are subject to the requirements of Minnesota Rules, 
part 9530.6490.  

 
2. Infant and Child Safety recommendations. In order to reduce the risk of sudden unexplained 

infant death, it is recommended that license holders who provide chemical dependency treatment 
services to clients with infants or children through five years of age, who sleep at the program , 
instruct the clients on the following standards:  
 
Training recommendations.  Minnesota Statutes, section 245A.1444 requires licensed chemical 
dependency treatment programs that serve clients with infants or children through five years of 
age, who sleep at the program, to instruct staff persons or volunteers that assist in the care of 
infants or children through five years of age, on the standards in section 245A.1435, and training 
on reducing the risk of sudden unexpected infant death and abusive head trauma from shaking 
infants and young children.   It is recommended that licensed chemical dependency treatment 
programs that serve clients with infants or children through five years of age, who sleep at the 
program, provide this training to clients.      
 
Safe Sleep Practices.  Amendments to Section 245A.1435 were approved by the 2013 and 2014 
Legislature to improve child safety and better protect infants receiving care in licensed settings by 
providing additional standards for safe sleep practices.  Section 245A.1444 was amended to 
reflect terminology changes from Sudden Infant Death Syndrome (SIDS) to Sudden Unexpected 
Infant Death (SUID), and from Shaken Baby Syndrome (SBS) to Abusive Head Trauma (AHT).  
These requirements were effective July 1, 2013.  
 
Crib Safety Requirements recommendation. Minnesota Statutes, section 245A.146, requires 
licensed chemical dependency treatment programs with children in care to maintain 
documentation of the brand name and the model number for every crib used by or that is 
accessible to any child in care, and documentation that meets federal requirements to demonstrate 
every full-size and non-full size crib that is used by or is accessible to any child in care is 
compliant with federal crib standards identified in 245A.146. The rules, which apply to full-size 
and non-full-size cribs, address many factors related to crib safety.  Important information about 
crib safety requirements are available at the following links: Forms For Mental Health and 
Chemical Health Programs;  Information Regarding Crib Standards and Compliance and DHS 
Monthly Safety Crib Inspection Form. 
 

https://www.revisor.mn.gov/rules?id=9530.6405
https://www.revisor.mn.gov/rules?id=9530.6480
https://www.revisor.mn.gov/rules/?id=9530.6490
https://www.revisor.mn.gov/rules/?id=9530.6490
https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/?id=245A.1444
https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/?id=245A.1435
https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/?id=245A.1435
https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/?id=245A.1444
https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/?id=245A.146
http://www.dhs.state.mn.us/main/idcplg?IdcService=GET_DYNAMIC_CONVERSION&RevisionSelectionMethod=LatestReleased&dDocName=id_028228
http://www.dhs.state.mn.us/main/idcplg?IdcService=GET_DYNAMIC_CONVERSION&RevisionSelectionMethod=LatestReleased&dDocName=id_028228
http://www.dhs.state.mn.us/main/idcplg?IdcService=GET_FILE&RevisionSelectionMethod=LatestReleased&Rendition=Primary&allowInterrupt=1&noSaveAs=1&dDocName=dhs16_175645
http://www.dhs.state.mn.us/main/groups/licensing/documents/defaultcolumns/dhs16_191547.pdf
http://www.dhs.state.mn.us/main/groups/licensing/documents/defaultcolumns/dhs16_191547.pdf
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F. INFORMATION SPECIFIC TO RESIDENTIAL RULE 31 CHEMICAL DEPENDENCY 

TREATMENT PROGRAMS  
 

1. Smoking in licensed residential healthcare facilities.  The Minnesota Department of Health 
provides Freedom to Breathe information online based on the Minnesota Clean Indoor Air Act 
and restrictions on smoking in licensed residential facilities.  
 

2. Education. If your residential program serves clients under age 18 and provides an on-site 
education program but does not have clear documentation of approval from the Minnesota 
Department of Education, please contact Lochlan Stuart, Minnesota Department of Education – 
Care and Treatment Programs, via e-mail at  Lochlan.Stuart@state.mn.us   
 

3. Who is a Vulnerable Adult.  Any person 18 years of age or older who is a resident or inpatient 
of a facility is defined as a vulnerable adult according to Minnesota Statutes, section 626.5572, 
subdivision 21.   
 

4. Individual Abuse Prevention Plan.  An individual abuse prevention plan must be developed as 
part of the initial service plan for each adult receiving residential chemical dependency treatment 
services.  The plan must meet the requirements of Minnesota Statutes, section 626.557, subpart 
14, and section 245A.65, subdivision 2, (b).  The review and evaluation of the vulnerable 
adult’s individual abuse prevention plan must be done weekly as part of the treatment plan 
review. 
 

5. Predatory Offender Notification.  Notification regarding a predatory offender is required only 
in residential treatment facilities and only if the facility receives a fact sheet about that individual 
from law enforcement or a corrections agent. For details related to this topic please see the Rule 
31 Licensing Renewal Letter for 2013, item F (4).    

 
G. INFORMATION SPECIFIC TO ALL OUTPATIENT RULE 31 CHEMICAL DEPENDENCY 

TREATMENT  
 

1. Vulnerable Adult Determination.  As required by Minnesota Statutes, section 245A.65, 
subdivision 1a, a license holder providing services to adults who are excluded from the 
definition of vulnerable adult under Minnesota Statutes, section 626.5572, subdivision 21, 
paragraph (a), clause (2), must determine whether the person is a vulnerable adult: 
 
a. within 24 hours of admission to the licensed program; and  

 
b. within 24 hours of any incident that was reported under section 626.557 or would have 

been required to be reported under section 626.557 if one or more of the adults involved 
in the incident had been vulnerable adults. 

  
Use of the DHS Vulnerable Adult Determination Form – Rule 31 based on the definition in 
Minnesota Statutes, section 626.5572, subdivision 21, clause (4),  is recommended to help 
outpatient chemical dependency treatment program staff determine whether an individual is a 
vulnerable adult. 

 
2. Individual Abuse Prevention Plan. Minnesota Statutes, section 245A.65, subdivision 2, 

paragraph (b), requires that an individual abuse prevention plan must be developed as part of 
the initial service plan for each person receiving services in an outpatient treatment program 
who has been determined to be a vulnerable adult during the intake interview, or when a 

http://www.health.state.mn.us/freedomtobreathe/
http://education.state.mn.us/MDE/StuSuc/SpecEdProg/index.html
http://education.state.mn.us/MDE/StuSuc/SpecEdProg/index.html
mailto:Lochlan.Stuart@state.mn.us
https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/?id=626.5572
https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/?id=626.5572
https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/?id=626.557%23stat.626.557.14
https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/?id=626.557%23stat.626.557.14
https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/?id=245A.65
http://www.dhs.state.mn.us/main/groups/licensing/documents/pub/dhs16_172832.pdf
http://www.dhs.state.mn.us/main/groups/licensing/documents/pub/dhs16_172832.pdf
https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/?id=245A.65
https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/?id=245A.65
https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/?id=626.5572
https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/?id=626.5572
https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/?id=626.557
https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/?id=626.557
http://www.dhs.state.mn.us/main/idcplg?IdcService=GET_DYNAMIC_CONVERSION&RevisionSelectionMethod=LatestReleased&dDocName=id_028228
https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/?id=626.5572
https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/?id=245A.65
https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/?id=245A.65
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later determination of vulnerability is made. A review and evaluation of the vulnerable 
adult’s individual abuse prevention plan must be done weekly as part of the treatment plan 
review.   

 
H. INFORMATION SPECIFIC FOR METHADONE PROGRAMS  

 
1. New Legislative Requirements.  License holders providing opioid treatment services must meet 

the requirements of laws passed in the 2013 session to strengthen regulation of methadone clinics 
and improve treatment for people who are addicted to opiates. The document New Requirements 
for Treatment of Opiate Addiction contains an overview of the new requirements and links to the 
applicable statutes.  One of the new requirements is that license holders must ensure that the 
medical director or the medical director’s delegate is reviewing data from the prescription 
monitoring program (PMP) as required in Minnesota Statue 245A.192, subdivision 11. 

 
2. Counselor Supervision of Clients. Minnesota Rules, part 9530.6445, subpart 4 states “A 

counselor in a program treating intravenous drug abusers must not supervise more than 50 clients 
and must maintain a record that documents compliance with this subpart. Staff must meet the 
qualifications of an alcohol and drug counselor in 9530.6450, subpart 5, or have a temporary 
permit from the Board of Behavioral Health and Therapy, in order to carry a caseload.  Student 
interns must not carry their own caseloads.  

 
3. Central Registry required information.  Reminder:  the information submitted to the central 

registry must include a valid government-issued photo identification card. The government-issued 
photo identification card cannot be expired.   

 
I. QUESTIONS REGARDING THE 2015 LICENSE RENEWAL PROCESS 
 

If you have any questions regarding this 2015 license renewal process, please contact the licensor 
assigned to your program.  If you do not know the name of the licensor assigned to your program, 
please call (651) 431-6500 and ask to speak to the licensor on call for the MICD Unit.   

http://www.dhs.state.mn.us/main/groups/licensing/documents/pub/dhs16_180150.pdf
http://www.dhs.state.mn.us/main/groups/licensing/documents/pub/dhs16_180150.pdf
https://www.revisor.leg.state.mn.us/statutes/?id=245A.192
https://www.revisor.mn.gov/rules/?id=9530.6445
https://www.revisor.mn.gov/rules/?id=9530.6450

