
NOT PUBLIC Personnel Information Form    
 

 
This form must be submitted to DHS for each employee at the time of initial licensing or when requested by DHS.  If 
submission is requested please include supporting documents such as post-secondary transcripts, diplomas, or certificates.  Be 
sure that transcripts include the name of the post-secondary institution and the name of the staff person printed on the transcript 
by the post-secondary institution.  This information must also be maintained in each staff person’s personnel file on-site.  All 
staff must meet applicable staff qualifications as required in Minnesota Rules, parts 9503.0030 through 9503.0034.   
 
NAME OF EMPLOYEE (First, Middle, Last) 
 
                                  

DATE OF BIRTH 

NAME OF PROGRAM PROGRAM LICENSE NUMBER 

PROGRAM ADDRESS 

DATE OF EMPLOYMENT DATE OF FIRST CONTACT W/CHILDREN JOB TITLE 

 
Alternatives for staff qualification.  Circle the appropriate number representing how a teacher or assistant teacher qualifies for the 
position.  Refer to Minnesota Rules, parts 9503.0030-9503.0034 to determine which alternative is appropriate.  

Teacher:    1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9 
Assistant Teacher:   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9 
Aide: �    Volunteer:       Director:     
 
 
 
    
 
   
       

Child care experience to date: (most recent first) 
Experience means paid or unpaid employment as a teacher, assistant teacher, aide, or student intern in a public 
or non-public school serving children 12 years or under, in a licensed child care center or hours worked as the 
license holder of a licensed family day care home.  Do not list any unrelated work experience. 
Name and address of employer (school,  
child care center or family day care) 

Job title (teacher, assistant 
teacher, aide, intern, license 
holder) 

Dates of employment Total number 
   of hours 
   worked 

  From:  
  To: 
  From:  
  To: 
  From:  
  To: 

Total Hours of Experience  

Orientation Documentation: 
I received an orientation required under MN Statutes, Section 245A.40, subd. 1, before starting work with children. The orientation 
included: A. the center’s philosophy, child care program,  procedures for maintaining health and safety, and handling  
emergencies and accidents; B. specific job responsibilities; C. the behavior guidance standards specified in part 9503.0055; and  
D. the reporting responsibilities specified in MN Statutes, sections 626.556 (Reporting Maltreatment of Minors), 245A.66, and MN 
Rules, part 9503.0130, subpart 1.                                                    
EMPLOYEE’S SIGNATURE   DATE ORIENTATION COMPLETED 

SIGNATURE OF SUPERVISOR VERIFYING ACCURACY OF INFORMATION 
 

DATE 

        Updated: 7/31/13 
 

Please keep a copy of this form in the staff file. 

    Variance:___________________________________Expires:______________
   
DHS USE ONLY  CDA Expires:_______________________________       
 

DHS Licensor initials: _____________Date:_______________ 



9503.0031 DIRECTORS. Subpart 1. General requirements for a director. A director must: A. be at least 18 years old; B. be a graduate of a high 
school or hold an equivalent diploma attained through successful completion of the general education development (GED) test; C. have at least 
1,040 hours of paid or unpaid staff supervision experience; and D.  have at least nine quarter credits or 90 hours earned in any combination of 
accredited courses in staff supervision, human relations, and child development. 

Subp. 2. Additional requirements.  If a director functions as a teacher or develops or revises the child care program plan, the director must 
meet the qualifications of a teacher specified in part 9503.0032.  

9503.0032 TEACHERS. 

Subpart 1.  Teacher qualifications, general.  A teacher must be at least 18 years old and meet the qualifications in subpart 2 with the 
following exceptions:  A.  A registered nurse or licensed practical nurse is qualified as a teacher for infants only.  B.  A registered nurse may be 
used to meet the staff-to-child ratios for a teacher for sick care in a center licensed to operate a sick care program. 

Subp. 2.  Teacher education and experience requirements.  A teacher with the credential listed in column A must have the education and 
experience listed in column B. 

                                                    Column A                                                                                                       Column B                                       
(1) A high school or General Education Development (GED) diploma Experience: 4,160 hours as assistant teacher   

Education: 24 quarter credits 
(2) Diploma from Association Montessori Internationale; preprimary 
credential, primary diploma, or provisional certificate from the American 
Montessori Society, without a baccalaureate degree 

Experience: 2,080 hours as assistant teacher, aide, or student 
intern 
Education: 12 quarter credits 

(3) Preprimary credential, primary diploma, or provisional certificate from the 
American Montessori Society; or diploma from the Association Montessori 
Internationale with a baccalaureate degree 

Experience: 1,040 hours as assistant teacher, aide, or student 
intern 
Education: no additional required 

(4) Minnesota technical institute certificate as a Child Development Assistant Experience: 2,080 hours as an assistant teacher 
Education: six quarter credits 

(5) Child Development Associate credential (center based or family day care) 
for preschool or for infants and toddlers from the Council for Early 
Childhood Professional Recognition 

Experience: 1,560 hours as assistant teacher, aide, or student 
intern 
Education: no additional required 

(6) License from the Minnesota Department of Education for Prekindergarten 
Associate; or a certificate or credential for a two-year program from an 
accredited community college or technical college in child development or 
early childhood education 

Experience: 1,040 hours as assistant teacher, aide, or student 
intern 
Education: six quarter credits 

(7) Baccalaureate degree from an accredited college or university in any field Experience: 1,040 hours as assistant teacher, aide, or student 
intern 
Education: 18 quarter credits 

(8) License from the Minnesota Department of Education for elementary 
education without kindergarten endorsement 

Experience: 520 hours as assistant teacher, aide, or student intern 
if teaching children under school age 
Education: six quarter credits within one year of initial 
employment if teaching children under school age 

(9) License from the Minnesota Department of Education for 
prekindergarten/nursery, or a license from the Minnesota Department of 
Education for elementary education with a kindergarten endorsement 

Experience: no additional required 
Education: no additional required 

9503.0033 ASSISTANT TEACHERS. 
Subpart 1.  Assistant teacher qualifications, general.  An assistant teacher must work under the supervision of a teacher. An assistant teacher 
must be at least 18 years old and meet the qualifications in subpart 2 with the following exceptions:  A.  A registered nurse or licensed practical 
nurse is qualified as an assistant teacher for infants only.  B.  A registered nurse may be used to meet the staff-to-child ratios for an assistant 
teacher for sick care in a center licensed to operate a sick care program. 
Subp. 2.  Assistant teacher education and experience requirements.  An assistant teacher with the credential listed in column A must have the 
education and experience listed in column B 
                                                  Column A                                                                                                                    Column B 
(1) High school diploma or General Education Development (GED) 
equivalency 

Experience: 2,080 hours as an aide or student intern 
Education: 12 quarter credits 

(2) Minnesota license as a family day care or group family day care provider Experience: 2,080 hours as a licensed family day care or group 
family day care provider 
Education: 12 quarter credits 

(3) Diploma from Association Montessori Internationale or preprimary 
credential, primary diploma, or provisional certificate from the American 
Montessori Society 

Experience: 520 hours as an aide or student intern 
Education: three quarter credits 

(4) Minnesota technical institute certificate as a Child Development Assistant Experience: 520 hours as an aide or student intern 
Education: no additional required 

(5) Two years full-time postsecondary education from a college or university Experience: 1,040 hours as an aide or student intern 
Education: nine quarter credits   
   

(6) Child Development Associate credential, center based or for family day 
care, from the Council for Early Childhood Professional Recognition 

Experience: no additional required 
Education: no additional required 

(7) Baccalaureate degree in any field from an accredited college or university Experience: no additional required 
Education: nine quarter credits 

(8) Certificate or credential for a two year program in child development or 
early childhood education at a Minnesota community college or technical 
college 

Experience: no additional required 
Education: no additional required 

(9) License from the Minnesota Department of Children, Families, and 
Learning for Prekindergarten Associate 

Experience: no additional required 
Education: no additional required 

 

https://www.revisor.leg.state.mn.us/rules?id=9503.0032
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