
Minnesota Department of Human Services 
Licensing Division 

Overview of 245D Licensure Requirements Effective 01/01/2014 

06-2013 

Services  License required 
before 1/1/2014 

245D license required by 
1/1/2014 

245D license application & 
renewal fee  

Basic support services 
Services that provide the level of assistance, supervision, and care 
that is necessary to ensure the health and safety of the person and 
do not include services that are specifically directed toward the 
training, treatment, habilitation, or rehabilitation of the person.  
 
Basic support services include: 

 24-hour emergency assistance, personal emergency response 

 Companion; excluding companion services provided under the 
Corporation for National and Community Services Senior Companion 
Program 

 Homemaker; excluding providers licensed by the Department of 
Health under chapter 144A and those providers providing cleaning 
services only. 

 Night supervision 

 Personal support 

 Respite 

None A 245D-HCBS program 
license1 required for all types 
of basic and intensive support 
services. 

Providers without a 245B 
license  
2013 application fee: do pay 
an application fee of $200; 
$300; $400; or $500, 
depending on revenues2;  
2014 annual renewal fee: do 
not pay an annual license 
fee for their 2014 245D 
license.  

 
Providers with a 245B 
license 
2013 application fee: do not 
pay an application fee;  
2014 annual renewal fee: do 
pay an annual license fee for 
their 2014 245D license. 

Intensive support services 
Services that provide assistance, supervision, and care that is 
necessary to ensure the health and safety of the person and services 
specifically directed toward the training, habilitation, or rehabilitation 
of the person. Intensive support services include: 

See specific service   

Intervention services    

 Behavioral support None   

 Crisis respite  245B-CR If out-of-home crisis respite is 
provided in facility controlled 
by the 245D-HCBS license 
holder3 the facility must be 
licensed as one of the 
following: 
 245D-CRS4 
 203-AFC5 
 2960-CFC6 

 

 Specialist services None   



Minnesota Department of Human Services 
Licensing Division 

Overview of 245D Licensure Requirements Effective 01/01/2014 

06-2013 

Services  License required 
before 1/1/2014 

245D license required by 
1/1/2014 

245D license application & 
renewal fee  

In-home support services    

Residential-based habilitation  
 in-home family support (IHFS) in person’s family home  
 supported living services (SLS) in an adult’s own home 

245B-RH   

 Independent living services (ILS) training None   

 Semi-independent living services (SILS) 245B-SILS   

Residential supports and services    

Residential-based habilitation  
 supported living services (SLS) in a licensed facility 

245B-RH & facility 
license, foster care 
license or SLF7 

If SLS is provided in a facility 
controlled by the 245D-HCBS 
license holder the facility 
must be licensed as one of 
the following: 
 245D-CRS 
 203-AFC 
 2960-CFC 
 SLF  

The county licensing agency 
sets the application fees for 
the following licenses: 
 245D-CRS 
 203-AFC 
 2960-CFC 
 
There is a moratorium on new 
development of SLS in SLFs. 

 Foster care services in a licensed facility Foster care license  If foster care service is 
provided in a facility 
controlled by 245D-HCBS 
license holder the facility 
must be licensed as one of 
the following: 
 245D-CRS  
 203-AFC 
 2960-CFC 

The county licensing agency 
sets the application fees for 
the following licenses: 
 245D-CRS 
 203-AFC 
 2960-CFC 

 Residential services   245B-RS & SLF with 
ICF/DD certification 

In addition to the 245D-HCBS 
license; the provider must 
hold a SLF license from MDH 
with federal ICF/DD 
certification  

There is a moratorium on new 
development of ICFs/DD. 

Day services  If the service is provided in a 
facility controlled by 245D-
HCBS license holder the 
facility must be licensed as 
245D-DSF8.  

There is a $250 application 
fee for day service facilities 
not currently licensed as a 
DT&H facility under a 245B-
DTH license. 

 Day training & habilitation (DTH) 245B-DTH 

 Prevocational None 

 Structured day None 
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Employment services    

 Supported employment (DD waiver) 245B-SES   

 Supported employment (non-DD waiver) None   
1 245D-HCBS program license means the license the provider must hold to provide any service that requires a 245D license. 
2 Revenues means revenues derived from the provision of services that require licensure under chapter 245D. For example, revenue from GRH payments would not be included as GRH funds are 
not used to pay for 245D services. 
3 Facility controlled by the provider means the provider is the owner, lessor, or tenant of service site.  
4 245D-CRS means a community residential setting license issued under 245D. The 245D-CRS license holder is required to hold a 245D-HCBS program license. The 245D-CRS license replaces the AFC 
license when the license holder does not live in the home and is providing 245D licensed services to the residents of the home.  
5 203-AFC means an adult foster care license issued under DHS Rule 203. 
6 2960-CFC means a child foster care license issued under MN Rules, chapter 2960. 
7 SLF means a Supervised Living Facility license issued by the MN Dept. of Health.    
8 245D-DSF means a 245D Day Services Facility license issued under 245D. The 245D-DSF license holder is required to hold a 245D-HCBS program license.   
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