
 

 
 
DATE: September 14, 2007 
 
TO:    CHILD CARE CENTERS (DHS Rule 3) 
 
SUBJECT:   Legislative Update from the 2007 Legislative Session 
_____________________________________________________________________________ 
 
Minnesota Statutes, chapter 245A (Human Services Licensing Act) (See Minnesota Session Laws 
2007, chapter 112).  Unless otherwise noted, the changes became effective on August 1, 2007.  The 
changes highlighted below are not a comprehensive list of all 2007 statutory changes that may impact 
DHS license holders. 
 
1. Minnesota Statutes, section 245A.04, subdivision 14 [Policies and procedures for program 
administration required and enforceable].  A new subdivision was added to Minnesota Statutes, section 
245A.04, that clarifies the responsibility of license holders to implement program policies and procedures 
required by statute and rule.   
 
Subdivision 14. Policies and procedures for program administration required and enforceable. (a) 
The license holder shall develop program policies and procedures necessary to maintain compliance with 
licensing requirements under Minnesota Statutes and Minnesota Rules. 
(b) The license holder shall: 
(1) provide training to program staff related to their duties in implementing the program's policies and 
procedures developed under paragraph (a); 
(2) document the provision of this training; and 
(3) monitor implementation of policies and procedures by program staff. 
(c) The license holder shall keep program policies and procedures readily accessible to staff and index 
the policies and procedures with a table of contents or another method approved by the commissioner. 
 
2. Minnesota Statutes, section 245A.04, subdivision 15 [Pandemic planning].  A new subdivision 
was added to Minnesota Statutes, section 245A.04, that requires license holders to cooperate with state 
and local government disaster planning agencies to prepare for and react to pandemic emergencies.  
 
Subdivision 15. Pandemic planning. Upon request, the license holder must cooperate with state and 
local government disaster planning agencies working to prepare for or react to emergencies presented by 
a pandemic outbreak. 
 
3. Minnesota Statutes, section 245A.14, subdivision 8 [Experienced aides; child care centers].  The 
amendment cross-referenced Minnesota Statutes, section 245A.40 regarding first aid and CPR training 
applicable to experienced aides in child care centers.  All child care center training requirements were 
moved to Minnesota Statutes, section 245A.40.  
 
Subdivision 8. Experienced aides; child care centers. (a) An individual employed as an aide at a child 
care center may work with children without being directly supervised for an amount of time that does not 
exceed 25 percent of the child care center's daily hours if: 
(1) a teacher is in the facility; 
(2) the individual has received within the last three years first aid training that meets the requirements 
under section 245A.40, subdivision 3, and CPR training that meets the requirements under section 
245A.40, subdivision 4; 
(3) the individual is at least 20 years old; and 



 

 

(4) the individual has at least 4,160 hours of child care experience as a staff member in a licensed child 
care center or as the license holder of a family day care home, 120 days of which must be in the 
employment of the current company. 
(b) A child care center that uses experienced aides under this subdivision must notify parents or 
guardians by posting the notification in each classroom that uses experienced aides, identifying which 
staff member is the experienced aide. Records of experienced aide usage must be kept on-site and given 
to the commissioner upon request. 
(c) A child care center may not use the experienced aide provision for one year following two determined 
experienced aide violations within a one-year period. 
(d) A child care center may use one experienced aide per every four full-time child care classroom staff. 
 
4. Minnesota Statutes, section 245A.1435 [Reduction of risk of sudden infant death syndrome in 
licensed programs].  A new section was added to Minnesota Statutes, Chapter 245A to reduce the risk of 
Sudden Infant Death Syndrome in programs that care for infants.  Requires license holders to place 
infants to sleep on the infant’s back unless documentation from the infant’s parent directing an alternate 
sleeping position and prohibits items such as pillows and comforters from being placed in the crib with the 
infant.  Standards are based on national research and “Back to Sleep” campaign standards and make 
standards consistent with current training requirements under Minnesota Statutes, section 245A.144. 
Child care providers must meet crib requirements under Minnesota Statutes, section 245A.146. 
 
Section 15. [245A.1435] REDUCTION OF RISK OF SUDDEN INFANT DEATH SYNDROME IN 
LICENSED PROGRAMS. 
When a license holder is placing an infant to sleep, the license holder must place the infant on the infant's 
back, unless the license holder has documentation from the infant's parent directing an alternative 
sleeping position for the infant, and must place the infant in a crib with a firm mattress. The license holder 
must not place pillows, quilts, comforters, sheepskin, pillow-like stuffed toys, or other soft products in the 
crib with the infant. Licensed child care providers must meet the crib requirements under section 
245A.146. 
 
5. Minnesota Statutes, section 245A.40 [Child care center training requirements].  A new section 
was added to Minnesota Statutes, Chapter 245A.  Existing statutory and rule training standards for child 
care centers were moved into this section and terminology was made consistent with Minnesota’s Core 
Competencies.  There are no new training requirements.  Subdivision 6 clarifies the exclusion from child 
passenger restraint training for providers who transport school-age children only in child care buses.  
 
Section 21. [245A.40] CHILD CARE CENTER TRAINING REQUIREMENTS. 
Subdivision 1. Orientation. The child care center license holder must ensure that every staff person and 
volunteer is given orientation training and successfully completes the training before starting assigned 
duties. The orientation training in this subdivision applies to volunteers who will have direct contact with or 
access to children and who are not under the direct supervision of a staff person. Completion of the 
orientation must be documented in the individual's personnel record. The orientation training must include 
information about: 
(1) the center's philosophy, child care program, and procedures for maintaining health and safety and 
handling emergencies and accidents; 
(2) specific job responsibilities; 
(3) the behavior guidance standards in Minnesota Rules, part 9503.0055; and 
(4) the reporting responsibilities in section 626.556, and Minnesota Rules, part 9503.0130. 
 
Subdivision 2. Child growth and development training. (a) For purposes of child care centers, the 
director and all staff hired after July 1, 2006, shall complete and document at least two hours of child 
growth and development training within the first year of employment. For purposes of this subdivision, 
"child growth and development training" means training in understanding how children acquire language 
and develop physically, cognitively, emotionally, and socially. Training completed under this subdivision 
may be used to meet the orientation training requirements under subdivision 1 and the in-service training 
requirements under subdivision 7. 
(b) Notwithstanding paragraph (a), individuals are exempt from this requirement if they: 
(1) have taken a three-credit college course on early childhood development within the past five years; 
 



 

 

(2) have received a baccalaureate or master's degree in early childhood education or school-age child 
care within the past five years; 
(3) are licensed in Minnesota as a prekindergarten teacher, an early childhood educator, a kindergarten 
to sixth grade teacher with a prekindergarten specialty, an early childhood special education teacher, or 
an elementary teacher with a kindergarten endorsement; or 
(4) have received a baccalaureate degree with a Montessori certificate within the past five years. 
 
Subdivision 3. First aid. All teachers and assistant teachers in a child care center governed by Minnesota 
Rules, parts 9503.0005 to 9503.0170, and at least one staff person during field trips and when 
transporting children in care, must satisfactorily complete first aid training within 90 days of the start of 
work, unless the training has been completed within the previous three years. The first aid training must 
be repeated at least every three years, documented in the person's personnel record and indicated on the 
center's staffing chart, and provided by an individual approved as a first aid instructor. This training may 
be less than eight hours. 
 
Subdivision 4. Cardiopulmonary resuscitation. (a) When children are present in a child care center 
governed by Minnesota Rules, parts 9503.0005 to 9503.0170, at least one staff person must be present 
in the center who has been trained in cardiopulmonary resuscitation (CPR) and in the treatment of 
obstructed airways. The CPR training must have been provided by an individual approved to provide CPR 
instruction, must be repeated at least once every three years, and must be documented in the staff 
person's records. 
(b) Cardiopulmonary resuscitation training may be provided for less than four hours. 
(c) Persons qualified to provide cardiopulmonary resuscitation training shall include individuals approved 
as cardiopulmonary resuscitation instructors. 
 
Subdivision 5. Sudden infant death syndrome and shaken baby syndrome training. 
(a) License holders must document that before staff persons care for infants, they are instructed on the 
standards in section 245A.1435 and receive training on reducing the risk of sudden infant death 
syndrome and shaken baby syndrome. The training in this subdivision may be provided as orientation 
training under subdivision 1 and in-service training under subdivision 7. 
(b) Training required under this subdivision must be at least one hour in length and must be completed at 
least once every five years. At a minimum, the training must address the risk factors related to sudden 
infant death syndrome and shaken baby syndrome, means of reducing the risk of sudden infant death 
syndrome and shaken baby syndrome in child care, and license holder communication with parents 
regarding reducing the risk of sudden infant death syndrome and shaken baby syndrome. 
(c) The commissioner shall make available for viewing a video presentation on the dangers associated 
with shaking infants and young children. The video presentation must be part of the orientation and 
annual in-service training of licensed child care centers. The commissioner shall provide to child care 
providers and interested individuals, at cost, copies of a video approved by the commissioner of health 
under section 144.574 on the dangers associated with shaking infants and young children. 
 
Subdivision 6. Child passenger restraint systems; training requirement. (a) A license holder must comply 
with all seat belt and child passenger restraint system requirements under section 169.685. 
(b) Child care centers that serve a child or children under nine years of age must document training that 
fulfills the requirements in this subdivision. 
(1) Before a license holder transports a child or children under age nine in a motor vehicle, the person 
placing the child or children in a passenger restraint must satisfactorily complete training on the proper 
use and installation of child restraint systems in motor vehicles. Training completed under this subdivision 
may be used to meet orientation training under subdivision 1 and in-service training under subdivision 7. 
(2) Training required under this subdivision must be at least one hour in length, completed at orientation, 
and repeated at least once every five years. At a minimum, the training must address the proper use of 
child restraint systems based on the child's size, weight, and age, and the proper installation of a car seat 
or booster seat in the motor vehicle used by the license holder to transport the child or children. 
(3) Training required under this subdivision must be provided by individuals who are certified and 
approved by the Department of Public Safety, Office of Traffic Safety. License holders may obtain a list of 
certified and approved trainers through the Department of Public Safety Web site or by contacting the 
agency. 
(4) Child care providers that only transport school-age children as defined in section 245A.02, subdivision 



 

 

16, in child care buses as defined in section 169.448, subdivision 1, paragraph (e), are exempt from this 
subdivision. 
Subdivision 7. In-service. (a) A license holder must ensure that an annual in-service training plan is 
developed and carried out and that it meets the requirements in clauses (1) to (7). The in-service training 
plan must: 
(1) be consistent with the center's child care program plan; 
(2) meet the training needs of individual staff persons as specified in each staff person's annual 
evaluation report; 
(3) provide training, at least one-fourth of which is by a resource not affiliated with the license holder; 
(4) include Minnesota Rules, parts 9503.0005 to 9503.0170, relevant to the staff person's position and 
must occur within two weeks of initial employment; 
(5) provide that at least one-half of the annual in-service training completed by a staff person each year 
pertains to the age of children for which the person is providing care; 
(6) provide that no more than four hours of each annual in-service training requirement relate to 
administration, finances, and records training for a teacher, assistant teacher, or aide; and 
(7) provide that the remainder of the in-service training requirement be met by participation in training in 
child growth and development; learning environment and curriculum; assessment and planning for 
individual needs; interactions with children; families and communities; health, safety, and nutrition; and 
program planning and evaluation. 
(b) For purposes of this subdivision, the following terms have the meanings given them. 
(1) "Child growth and development training" has the meaning given it in subdivision 2, paragraph (a). 
(2) "Learning environment and curriculum" means training in establishing an environment that provides 
learning experiences to meet each child's needs, capabilities, and interests, including early childhood 
education methods or theory, recreation, sports, promoting creativity in the arts, arts and crafts methods 
or theory, and early childhood special education methods or theory. 
(3) "Assessment and planning for individual needs" means training in observing and assessing what 
children know and can do in order to provide curriculum and instruction that addresses their 
developmental and learning needs, including children with special needs. 
(4) "Interactions with children" means training in establishing supportive relationships with children and 
guiding them as individuals and as part of a group, including child study techniques and behavior 
guidance. 
(5) "Families and communities" means training in working collaboratively with families, agencies, and 
organizations to meet children's needs and to encourage the community's involvement, including family 
studies and parent involvement. 
(6) "Health, safety, and nutrition" means training in establishing and maintaining an environment that 
ensures children's health, safety, and nourishment, including first aid, cardiopulmonary resuscitation, child 
nutrition, and child abuse and neglect prevention. 
(7) "Program planning and evaluation" means training in establishing, implementing, evaluating, and 
enhancing program operations. 
(c) The director and all program staff persons must annually complete a number of hours of in-service 
training equal to at least two percent of the hours for which the director or program staff person is 
annually paid, unless one of the following is applicable. 
(1) A teacher at a child care center must complete one percent of working hours of in-service training 
annually if the teacher: 
    (i) possesses a baccalaureate or master's degree in early childhood education or school-age care; 
    (ii) is licensed in Minnesota as a prekindergarten teacher, an early childhood educator, a kindergarten 
to sixth grade teacher with a prekindergarten specialty, an early childhood special education teacher, or 
an elementary teacher with a kindergarten endorsement; or 
    (iii) possesses a baccalaureate degree with a Montessori certificate. 
(2) A teacher or assistant teacher at a child care center must complete one and one-half percent of 
working hours of in-service training annually if the individual is: 
    (i) a registered nurse or licensed practical nurse with experience working with  
infants; 
    (ii) possesses a Montessori certificate, a technical college certificate in early childhood development, or 
a child development associate certificate; or 
    (iii) possesses an associate of arts degree in early childhood education, a baccalaureate degree in 
child development, or a technical college diploma in early childhood development. 
 



 

 

(d) The number of required training hours may be prorated for individuals not employed full time or for an 
entire year. 
(e) The annual in-service training must be completed within the calendar year for which it was required. 
In-service training completed by staff persons is transferable upon a staff person's change in employment 
to another child care program. 
(f) The license holder must ensure that, when a staff person completes in-service training, the training is 
documented in the staff person's personnel record. The documentation must include the date training was 
completed, the goal of the training and topics covered, trainer's name and organizational affiliation, 
trainer's signed statement that training was successfully completed, and the director's approval of the 
training. 
Subdivision 8. Cultural dynamics and disabilities training for child care providers. 
(a) The training required of licensed child care center staff must include training in the cultural dynamics 
of early childhood development and child care. The cultural dynamics and disabilities training and skills 
development of child care providers must be designed to achieve outcomes for providers of child care 
that include, but are not limited to: 
(1) an understanding and support of the importance of culture and differences in ability in children's 
identity development; 
(2) understanding the importance of awareness of cultural differences and similarities in working with 
children and their families; 
(3) understanding and support of the needs of families and children with differences in ability; 
(4) developing skills to help children develop unbiased attitudes about cultural differences and differences 
in ability; 
(5) developing skills in culturally appropriate caregiving; and 
(6) developing skills in appropriate caregiving for children of different abilities. 
(b) Curriculum for cultural dynamics and disability training shall be approved by the commissioner. 
(c) The commissioner shall amend current rules relating to the training of the licensed child care center 
staff to require cultural dynamics training. Timelines established in the rule amendments for complying 
with the cultural dynamics training requirements must be based on the commissioner's determination that 
curriculum materials and trainers are available statewide. 
(d) For programs caring for children with special needs, the license holder shall ensure that any additional 
staff training required by the child's individual child care program plan required under Minnesota Rules, 
part 9503.0065, subpart 3, is provided. 
 
6. Minnesota Statutes, section 245A.66 [Requirements; maltreatment of minors].  A new section 
was added to Minnesota Statutes, Chapter 245A that requires license holders serving children, except for 
family child care and child foster care for children in license holder’s residence, to establish policies and 
procedures to ensure than an internal review is completed and corrective action is taken when the facility 
has reason to know that a report of suspected or alleged maltreatment has been made.  The change 
makes the standards for programs serving children consistent with the current standards for programs 
serving vulnerable adults.  
 
Section 25. [245A.66] REQUIREMENTS; MALTREATMENT OF MINORS. 
Except for family child care settings and foster care for children in the license holder's residence, license 
holders serving children shall: 
(1) establish and maintain policies and procedures to ensure that an internal review is completed and that 
corrective action is taken if necessary to protect the health and safety of children in care when the facility 
has reason to know that an internal or external report of alleged or suspected maltreatment has been 
made. The review must include an evaluation of whether:  
    (i) related policies and procedures were followed;  
    (ii) the policies and procedures were adequate;  
    (iii) there is a need for additional staff training;  
    (iv) the reported event is similar to past events with the children or the services involved; and  
    (v) there is a need for corrective action by the license holder to protect the health and safety of children 
in care. 
Based on the results of this review, the license holder must develop, document, and implement a 
corrective action plan designed to correct current lapses and prevent future lapses in performance by 
individuals or the license holder, if any; 
(2) identify the primary and secondary person or position who will ensure that, when required, internal 



 

 

reviews are completed. The secondary person shall be involved when there is reason to believe that the 
primary person was involved in the alleged or suspected maltreatment; and 
(3) document that the internal review has been completed and provide documentation showing the review 
was completed to the commissioner upon the commissioner's request.   
The documentation provided to the commissioner by the license holder may consist of a completed 
checklist that verifies completion of each of the requirements of the review. 
 
7. Minnesota Statutes, section 626.557, Reporting of Maltreatment of Minors Act.  Minnesota 
Statutes, section 626.556, subdivision 2, paragraph (p) [Definitions].  The amendment defines 
“accidental” for purposes of consistency with the standard under the Reporting of Maltreatment of 
Vulnerable Adults Act for determining whether neglect or abuse occurred.   
 
Subdivision 2. Definitions. As used in this section, the following terms have the meanings given them 
unless the specific content indicates otherwise: 
 
(p) "Accidental" means a sudden, not reasonably foreseeable, and unexpected occurrence or event 
which: 
    (1) is not likely to occur and could not have been prevented by exercise of due care; and 
    (2) if occurring while a child is receiving services from a facility, happens when the facility and the 
employee or person providing services in the facility are in compliance with the laws and rules relevant to 
the occurrence of event. 
 
8. Licensing Moratorium [Minnesota Session Laws 2007, chapter 147, article 3, sec. 31].  A program 
operated by a nonpublic school program serving children 33 months of age or older is exempt from DHS 
licensure until July 1, 2009.  This provision became effective on May 26, 2007.  NOTE:  If your program is 
a nonpublic school and serves children 33 months or older, contact Peggy Cunningham, Unit Manager, at 
(651) 296-4144. 
 
LICENSING MORATORIUM. 
A program operated by a nonpublic school for children 33 months or older is exempt from the human 
services licensing requirements in Minnesota Statutes, chapter 245A, until July 1, 2009. Nothing in this 
section prohibits an already licensed nonpublic school program from continuing its licensure or a 
nonpublic school program from seeking licensure. 
 
EFFECTIVE DATE. This moratorium is effective the day following final enactment. 
 
 
Minnesota Statutes, Chapter 245C (The Human Services Background Study Act) 
 
9. Minnesota Statutes, section 245C.07 [Study subject affiliated with multiple facilities].  The 
amendment clarifies the scope of the provision requiring one background study for license holders who 
own multiple facilities, to include applicants or other entities, and to apply to programs licensed by the 
Department of Health and the Department of Corrections.  Only one study is required when an individual 
works for multiple programs under the same license holder if the specified conditions are met.  Changes 
terminology from “facilities” to “programs or services.”  (Also see the enclosure on background study 
information.) 
 
245C.07 STUDY SUBJECT AFFILIATED WITH MULTIPLE FACILITIES. 
(a) When a license holder, applicant, or other entity owns multiple programs or services that are licensed 
by the Department of Human Services, Department of Health, or Department of Corrections, only one 
background study is required for an individual who provides direct contact services in one or more of the 
licensed programs or services if: 
(1) the license holder designates one individual with one address and telephone number as the person to 
receive sensitive background study information for the multiple licensed programs or services that depend 
on the same background study; and 
(2) the individual designated to receive the sensitive background study information is capable of 
determining, upon request of the department, whether a background study subject is providing direct  



 

 

contact services in one or more of the license holder's programs or services and, if so, at which location 
or locations. 
(b) When a background study is being initiated by a licensed program or service or a foster care provider 
that is also registered under chapter 144D, a study subject affiliated with multiple licensed facilities 
programs or services may attach to the background study form a cover letter indicating the additional 
names of the programs or services, addresses, and background study identification numbers. 
When the commissioner receives a notice, the commissioner shall notify each program or service 
identified by the background study subject of the study results. 
The background study notice the commissioner sends to the subsequent agencies shall satisfy those 
programs' or services' responsibilities for initiating a background study on that individual. 
 
 


