
 
        CCDTF SFY 2015 ELIGIBILITY DETERMINATION as of 7/1/2014 
 

With implementation of the Affordable Care Act, there are also changes to Consolidated Chemical Dependency Treatment 
Fund (CCDTF) eligibility. 
Use the following information to determine client eligibility for the CCDTF beginning 1/1/2014 as per changes to 
Minnesota Statutes, section 254B.04 Subdivision 1 – Eligibility –  
Clients are entitled to have chemical dependency services paid for by the CCDTF, if the client: 

1. Is eligible for, or enrolled in MA, MSA, or SSI      OR 
2. Meets the following household size (HHS) and household income (HHI) limitation 

 
MA Parents, Caretaker Relative, 

children Age 19-20, Adults without 
Children 

MA Children – Age 2-18 MA Pregnant Women 

133% FPG 275% FPG 278% FPG 
HHS                 Annual HHI HHS            Annual HHI HHS             Annual HHI 
1                          $15,521 1                      $32,092 1                       N/A 
2                          $20,920 2                      $43,257 2                       $44,515        
3                          $26,320 3                      $54,422 3                       $56,005 
4                          $31,720 4                      $65,587 4                       $67,495 
5                          $37,120 5                      $76,752 5                       $78,985 
6                          $42,520 6                      $87,917 6                       $90,475 
7                          $47,919 7                      $99,082 7                      $101,964 
8                          $53,319 8                     $110,247 8                      $113,454 
Add’l                    $  5,399          Add’l             $ 11,165 Add’l                 $ 11,489 
   

No Asset Test No Asset Test No Asset Test 
   
   
 
CPA –  
Box #42 – Reserve Fund Eligibility – Enter “E” if the local agency has determined that the client meets CCDTF 

entitlement standards above 
Box #44 – County Pay 100% - Enter “Y” if the county wants to use county funds to pay for the entire placement 

for an individual who does not meet these standards.   
 No state funds are available to pay for treatment for persons who do not meet these standards.  Counties may place 

CCDTF ineligible clients only if the county enters an “O” in Box # 43, and “Y” in Box #44, agreeing to pay 100% of the 
placement costs.  DHS will then bill the county 100% of the placement costs.   
Enter “N” in Box #44 if the client is CCDTF eligible and the county does not want to pay 100% of the placement 
costs.               
  

Client CCDTF Eligibility/Commercial Insurance and PMAP/MinnesotaCare Enrollment 
As of the date of the Rule 25 assessment, determine the client’s CCDTF eligibility, including presence of a third party 
liability (TPL – commercial insurance).  CCDTF eligible clients who have TPL paying less than 100% of the recommended 
treatment costs continue to be CCDTF eligible.  Enter the information into an MMIS Service Agreement and into the 
corresponding TPL subsystem. 
The CCDTF provider will first bill the TPL source and submit denials and record of payment to DHS.  The most the 
CCDTF will pay is the difference between the amount received from the TPL and the CCDTF authorized amount for dates 
of service provided. 
 
Use MMIS or MN-ITS to determine if the client is enrolled in a Minnesota Pre-paid Health Plan, State contracted managed 
care organizations (MCO’s) are responsible for all CD treatment services for current enrollees. Counties providing 
assessment services for MCO enrolled clients must coordinate placement with the MCO. While MCO’s are not required to 
make placements at an IMD, the MCO is responsible for providing appropriate treatment services.  As of the first of each 
month, CD treatment providers are responsible for determining the current status and changes in the enrollment status of 
admitted clients and for contacting the new placing authority in a timely manner. Hospital based inpatient service 
providers are no longer an exception to this procedure. 
  
DHS will bill counties 100% of treatment costs for clients who do not meet clinical and/ or financial eligibility 

 
 



 
 
NOTES FOR DETERMINING CCDTF ELIGIBLITY 

 
 
 
INCOME IS:  Please see Minnesota Rules, Part 9530.7000, Subpart 13 for specifics 

• The amount received, reported, and verified as current income as of the date of assessment. 
• Calculated prospectively to cover one year. 
• Calculated for the household, as defined below, but does not include income of minors, unless the minor is 

seeking services under MS, Section 144.343 and 144.347, and then only the income of the minor is included. 
 
 
INCOME INCLUDES: 

• Cash wages or salaries 
• Cash from self-employment (net after allowable IRS deductions) 
• REGULAR payments from the following sources: 

• Social Security/Social Security Disability 
• Railroad Retirement 
• Unemployment Compensation 
• SSI, GA, SSI Disability 
• Union Funds 
• Veterans’ Benefits 
• Alimony (when it’s received) 
• Child Support (when it’s received) 

• Military Family Allotments 
• Private or Government Pensions 
• Insurance 
• Annuities 
• Interest (when regularly used/withdrawn from 

savings account) 
• Rent 
• Royalties

 
INCOME DOES NOT INCLUDE: 

• Gifts 
• Tax refunds 
• Inheritances 
• Capital gains 
• Non-cash benefits 
• Compensation for injury (ie., worker’s 

compensation) 
• Cash assets drawn down or withdrawn from a bank 
• Earnings or profits from the sale of a house, car, 

etc. 

• Alimony (when court-ordered to be paid) 
• Health insurance payments (when court-ordered to 

be paid) 
• Savings accounts 
• Court ordered child support (when being paid) is a 

deduction from the client’s household income 
• Amounts related to the Cobell Settlement 
 

 
HOUSEHOLD SIZE: 
 

If the Client is: 
  

Then the household size includes the following persons living in the same dwelling unit:* 

Adult 
 
 
 
  

• Client 
• Client’s spouse 
• Client’s minor-aged children 
• Client’s spouse’s minor-aged children 

Minor Child • Client 
• Client’s parents (birth or adoptive) 
• Client’s minor-aged siblings 

 
*Household size also includes a person listed above who is in out-of-home placements, if one of the persons 
listed above is contributing to the cost of care of that person in out-of-home placement. 

 
HOUSEHOLD SIZE DOES NOT INCLUDE: 

• Persons who have no legal relationship to the client 
• Unmarried partners 
• Step-parents, unless the minor child is adopted 

 




