
CCDTF SFY 2017 ELIGIBILITY DETERMINATION 

Use the following information to determine client eligibility for the Consolidated Chemical Dependency 
Treatment Fund (CCDTF) beginning 07/01/2016 as per Minnesota Statutes, section 254B.04 Subdivision 
1. Eligibility.  
Clients are entitled to have chemical dependency services paid for by the CCDTF, if the client: 

1. Is enrolled in Medical Assistance (MA)   OR 
2. Meets the following household size (HHS) and household income (HHI) limitation according to the 

Insurance Affordability Programs (IAPs) Income and Asset Guidelines.
 
MA Parents, Caretaker 
Relative, children Age 19-
20, Adults without Children 
133% FPG, No Asset Test 

HHS Annual HHI 

1 $15,800 

2 $21,333 

3 $26,866 

4 $32,398 

5 $37,931 

6 $43,464 

7 $48,997 

8 $54,530 

Add’l $5,532 

 
MA Children – Age 2-18 
275%FPG, No Asset Test 
 
 

HHS Annual HHI 

1 $32,670 

2 $44,110 

3 $55,550 

4 $66,990 

5 $78,430 

6 $89,870 

7 $101,310 

8 $112,750 

Add’l $11,440 

 
MA Pregnant Women  
278% FPG, No Asset Test 
 
 

HHS Annual HHI 

1 N/A 

2 $44,591 

3 $56,156 

4 $67,720 

5 $79,285 

6 $90,850 

7 $102,415 

8 $113,980 

Add’l $11,564 

 
Refer to the Client Placement Authorization (CPA) for the following fields:  
Box #42 – Reserve Fund Eligibility – Enter “E” if the local agency has determined that the client meets CCDTF 

entitlement standards above. 
Box #44 – County Pay 100% - Enter “Y” if the county wants to use county funds to pay for the entire placement 

for an individual who does not meet these standards. 

  No state funds are available to pay for treatment for persons who do not meet these standards.  Counties may 
place CCDTF ineligible clients only if the county enters an “O” in Box # 43, and “Y” in Box #44, agreeing to pay 
100% of the placement costs.  DHS will then bill the county 100% of the placement costs.   
Enter “N” in Box #44 if the client is CCDTF eligible and the county does not want to pay 100% of the 
placement costs. 

Client CCDTF Eligibility, Commercial Insurance and 
Prepaid Medical Assistance Program (PMAP)/MinnesotaCare Enrollment 

As of the date of the Rule 25 assessment, determine the client’s CCDTF eligibility, including presence of a third party 
liability (TPL – commercial insurance).  CCDTF eligible clients who have TPL paying less than 100% of the recommended 
treatment costs continue to be CCDTF eligible.  Enter the information into an MMIS Service Agreement and into the 
corresponding TPL subsystem. 
The CCDTF provider will first bill the TPL source and submit denials and record of payment to DHS.  The most the 
CCDTF will pay is the difference between the amount received from the TPL and the CCDTF authorized amount for dates 
of service provided. 
 
Use MMIS or MN-ITS to determine if the client is enrolled in a Minnesota Pre-paid Health Plan, state contracted managed 
care organizations (MCO’s) are responsible for all chemical dependency (CD) treatment services for current enrollees. 
Counties providing assessment services for MCO enrolled clients must coordinate placement with the MCO. While MCO’s 
are not required to make placements at an IMD, the MCO is responsible for providing appropriate treatment services.  As 
of the first of each month, CD treatment providers are responsible for determining the current status and changes in the 

https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/?id=254B.04
https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/?id=254B.04
https://edocs.dhs.state.mn.us/lfserver/Public/DHS-3461A-ENG
https://edocs.dhs.state.mn.us/lfserver/Public/DHS-2780-ENG


 
enrollment status of admitted clients and for contacting the new placing authority in a timely manner. Hospital based 
inpatient service providers are no longer an exception to this procedure. 

NOTES FOR DETERMINING CCDTF ELIGIBLITY 

DHS will bill counties 100% of treatment costs for clients who do not meet clinical and/ or financial eligibility 

INCOME IS:   

 The amount received, reported, and verified as current income as of the date of assessment. 

 Calculated prospectively to cover one year. 

 Calculated for the household, as defined below, but does not include income of minors, unless the minor is 
seeking services under MS, Section 144.343 and 144.347, and then only the income of the minor is included. 

 
Refer to Minnesota Rules, Part 9530.7000, Subpart 13 for more information. 

INCOME INCLUDES: 

 Cash wages or salaries 

 Cash from self-employment (net after allowable IRS deductions) 

 REGULAR payments from the following sources: 

 Social Security/Social Security Disability 

 Railroad Retirement 

 Unemployment Compensation 

 SSI, GA, SSI Disability 

 Union Funds 

 Veterans’ Benefits 

 Alimony (when it’s received) 

 Child Support (when it’s received) 

 Military Family Allotments 

 Private or Government Pensions 

 Insurance 

 Annuities 

 Interest (when regularly used/withdrawn from 
savings account) 

 Rent 

 Royalties

INCOME DOES NOT INCLUDE: 

 Gifts 

 Tax refunds 

 Inheritances 

 Capital gains 

 Non-cash benefits 

 Compensation for injury (i.e., worker’s 
compensation) 

 Cash assets drawn down or withdrawn from a bank 

 Earnings or profits from the sale of a house, car, 
etc. 

 Alimony (when court-ordered to be paid) 

 Health insurance payments (when court-ordered to 
be paid) 

 Savings accounts 

 Court ordered child support (when being paid) is a 
deduction from the client’s household income 

 Amounts related to the Cobell Settlement 
 

HOUSEHOLD SIZE: 
The following household size includes the following persons living in the same dwelling unit for adult or minor child 
clients:

Adult 

 Client 

 Client’s spouse 

 Client’s minor-aged children 

 Client’s spouse’s minor aged children 

Minor Child 

 Client 

 Client’s parents (birth or adoptive 

 Client’s minor-aged siblings 

Household size also includes a person listed above who is in out-of-home placements, if one of the persons listed 
above is contributing to the cost of care of that person in out-of-home placement. 

HOUSEHOLD SIZE DOES NOT INCLUDE: 

 Persons who have no legal relationship to the client 

 Unmarried partners 

 Step-parents, unless the minor child is adopted 

https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/?id=144.343
https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/?id=144.347
https://www.revisor.mn.gov/rules/?id=9530.7000

