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DESCRIPTION OF CHANGES ATTACHMENT 

REVISED SECTIONS – ISSUED 07/2009 
 

§6.21 (Family Copayment) deletes in the 2nd paragraph policy to clarify that it is now the 
provider’s obligation to collect or waive copayments.  It also adds links to the 2010 
Family Copayment schedules. 



.
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Child care assistance families are required to pay the family copayment fee.  When a family 
fails to pay the required family copayment fee, the family is ineligible for child care 
assistance until: 
 

 The fees are paid. 
OR 

 The family reaches an agreement for payment with the provider and the county. 
AND 

 The family continues to comply with the payment agreement. 
 
The copayment amount is based on family size and annual income after allowable 
deductions.  It is the provider’s obligation to collect or waive copayments. 
  
Some providers apply the amount paid by the family to the oldest fees or to the amount that 
is more than the county maximum rate.  In these cases, the provider considers the copayment 
not to have been paid and may indicate this on the billing voucher.  Consider the family to 
have met their requirement if the family is able to document that an amount has been paid 
that is equal to or greater than their copayment. 
 
If someone outside the family pays the copayment on behalf of the family, or the provider 
waives the copayment, the provider must keep a record of these transactions.  Do not 
consider this as income for the family.  Consider the family’s copayment requirement to have 
been met. 
 
Copayments are graduated to provide movement of families to full payment of child care 
costs as their income increases. 
 
During the 1st month of eligibility, prorate the copayment based on the number of calendar 
days left in the current monthly or biweekly copayment period. 
 
When family income increases, or the family receives a lump sum resulting in an increased 
copayment, provide a 15-day notice of adverse action to the family and provider.  Make the 
increased copayment effective with the next monthly or biweekly copayment period after the 
15 day notice period. 
 
For the Bi-Weekly Copayment Schedules and the Monthly Copayment Schedules, click on 
the applicable State Fiscal Year (SFY) time period: 
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BI-WEEKLY COPAYMENT SCHEDULES: 
 
2010 SFY Rates (July 2009 through June 2010)
2009 SFY Rates (July 2008 through June 2009)
2008 SFY Rates (July 2007 through June 2008)
2007 SFY Rates (July 2006 through June 2007)
 
MONTHLY COPAYMENT SCHEDULES: 
 
Monthly copayments are no longer available as of July 1, 2009 
2009 SFY Rates (July 2008 through June 2009)
2008 SFY Rates (July 2007 through June 2008)
2007 SFY Rates (July 2006 through June 2007)
 
ENTIRE COPAYMENT BULLETINS 
 
2010 SFY Rates (July 2009 through June 2010)
2009 SFY Rates (July 2008 through June 2009)
2008 SFY Rates (July 2007 through June 2008)
2007 SFY Rates (July 2006 through June 2007)
 
LEGAL AUTHORITY: 
 Minnesota Statutes 119B.12 Subd. 2 
 Minnesota Rules 3400.0100 
 

http://www.dhs.state.mn.us/main/groups/county_access/documents/pub/dhs16_145249.pdf
http://www.dhs.state.mn.us/main/groups/county_access/documents/pub/dhs16_142596.pdf
http://www.dhs.state.mn.us/main/groups/county_access/documents/pub/dhs16_142594.pdf
http://www.dhs.state.mn.us/main/groups/county_access/documents/pub/dhs16_142592.pdf
http://www.dhs.state.mn.us/main/groups/county_access/documents/pub/dhs16_142597.pdf
http://www.dhs.state.mn.us/main/groups/county_access/documents/pub/dhs16_142595.pdf
http://www.dhs.state.mn.us/main/groups/county_access/documents/pub/dhs16_142593.pdf
http://www.dhs.state.mn.us/main/groups/county_access/documents/pub/dhs16_145248.pdf
http://www.dhs.state.mn.us/main/groups/county_access/documents/pub/dhs16_142519.pdf
http://www.dhs.state.mn.us/main/groups/county_access/documents/pub/dhs16_142518.pdf
http://www.dhs.state.mn.us/main/groups/county_access/documents/pub/dhs16_142517.pdf
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